advertisement
Healthy Aging News
May 20, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Nutrition: Substantial Benefit from Replacing Steak With Fish

Consumers will gain a health benefit from substituting part of the red and processed meat in their diet with fish, according to new calculations. Men over 50 and women of childbearing age in ... read more

Brain Stimulation Improves Working Memory in Adults

Magnetic stimulation of the brain improves working memory, offering a new potential avenue of therapy for individuals living with Alzheimer's disease and other forms of ... read more

New Doctors' DNA Ages Six Times Faster Than Normal in First Year

Every summer, tens of thousands of newly minted doctors start the most intense year of their training: the first year of residency, also called the intern year. A new study suggests that the ... read more

Brain Changes Linked With Alzheimer's Years Before Symptoms Appear

In a records review of 290 people at risk for Alzheimer's disease, scientists say they have identified an average level of biological and anatomical brain changes linked to Alzheimer's disease that ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 9:17am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Bacteria's Role in Recurrent Urinary Tract Infections

A new finding shows that several species of bacteria reside in bladder tissue of postmenopausal women who experience recurrent urinary tract infections (RUTIs). The results represent the first ... read more

Scientists Grow Precursors for Human Pigment Cells

Our hair, skin and eyes are colored by a pigment called melanin, which is produced by pigment cells called melanocytes. Scientists have used stem cell technology to successfully create melanocyte ... read more

Could Sleep Molecules Lead to a Blood Test for Alzheimer's Disease?

A new study has found that a particular class of molecules may help with diagnosing Alzheimer's ... read more

Scientists report that adult cells reprogrammed to become primitive stem cells, called induced pluripotent stem cells (iPSCs), make tiny 'cargo packets' able to deliver potentially ... read more

Understanding of Atrial Fibrillation-Related Dementia

Researchers have determined that atrial fibrillation (Afib) is independently associated with changes that occur with aging and ... read more

Teaching Happiness to Dementia Caregivers Reduces Their Depression, Anxiety

Caring for family members with dementia -- which is on the rise in the US -- causes significant emotional and physical stress that increases caregivers' risk of depression, anxiety and death. A ... read more

Premature Birth Linked to Increased Risk of Chronic Kidney Disease Into Later Life

Preterm and early term birth are strong risk factors for the development of chronic kidney disease (CKD) from childhood into mid-adulthood, a new study ... read more

Two proteins central to the pathology of Alzheimer's disease act as prions -- misshapen proteins that spread through tissue like an infection by forcing normal proteins to adopt the same ... read more

Mental Disorders More Common in People Who Live Alone

Living alone is positively associated with common mental disorders, regardless of age and sex, according to a new ... read more

Researchers performed the first comprehensive analysis of the genes altered in individual brain cells of patients with Alzheimer's disease, allowing them to identify the distinctive cellular ... read more

Restoring Brain Function in Mice With Symptoms of Alzheimer's Disease

A study in mice shows that selectively removing cells that are no longer dividing from the brains of mice with a form of Alzheimer's disease can reduce brain damage and inflammation, and slow ... read more

Environmental Pollutants Could Impact Cellular Signs of Aging

Researchers have linked some environmental pollutants with diseases, a decreased life span and signs of premature aging, such as wrinkles and age spots. But can accelerated aging be detected at the ... read more

Rheumatoid Arthritis Patients Affected by Disabilities Well in Advance of Diagnosis

Patients diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis often are affected by functional disability a year or two before the disease is diagnosed, according to new research. The results of the study suggest ... read more

When Is 'Alzheimer's' Not Alzheimer's? Researchers Characterize a Different Form of Dementia

Alzheimer's is dementia, but not all dementias are Alzheimer's (which may explain why so many Alzheimer's drugs have failed in clinical trials). A new study provides a framework for a ... read more

Researchers Define Alzheimer's-Like Brain Disorder

A brain disorder that mimics symptoms of Alzheimer's disease has been defined with recommended diagnostic criteria and guidelines for advancing future research on the ... read more

A Third of Type 1 Diabetes Is Misdiagnosed in the Over 30s

A new study shows that 38 percent of patients with type 1 diabetes occurring after age 30 were initially treated as type 2 diabetes (without insulin). Researchers found that half of those ... read more

Why a Smell Test Should Become Part of a Regular Doctor Visit

A new study suggests that older adults with poor sense of smell may see an almost 50% increase in their risk of dying within 10 years -- surprisingly in healthier ... read more

Drugs to Prevent Stroke and Dementia Show Promise in Early Trial

Treatments that prevent recurrence of types of stroke and dementia caused by damage to small blood vessels in the brain have moved a step closer, following a small ... read more

Antibiotic Use Linked to Greater Risk of Heart Attack and Stroke in Women

Women who take antibiotics over a long period of time are at increased risk of heart attack or stroke, according to research carried out in nearly 36,500 ... read more

A Video Game Aids in Research on Alzheimer's Disease

A new study based on data collected from a spatial navigation video game has shown that poor spatial orientation as an indicator can help in early diagnosis of Alzheimer's disease, even prior to ... read more

Monday, May 13, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Friday, April 19, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Sunday, April 7, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Saturday, March 23, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Sunday, March 3, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com