advertisement
Epigenetics News
June 24, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Researchers have identified special regions of the genome where a blood sample can be used to infer epigenetic regulation throughout the body, allowing scientists to test for ... read more

It May Be Possible to Restore Memory Function in Alzheimer's, Preclinical Study Finds

New research reveals a new approach to Alzheimer's disease (AD) that may eventually make it possible to reverse memory loss, a hallmark of the ... read more

A New Approach to Detecting Cancer Earlier from Blood Tests

Cancer scientists have combined 'liquid biopsy,' epigenetic alterations and machine learning to develop a blood test to detect and classify cancer at its earliest ... read more

Autism's Social Deficits Are Reversed by an Anti-Cancer Drug

New research reveals the first evidence that it may be possible to use a single compound to alleviate the behavioral symptoms of autism spectrum disorder by targeting sets of genes involved in the ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 11:17pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Genetic Inequity Towards Endocrine Disruptors

Phthalates are used by industry in plastic products. Their toxic effect on the endocrine system is worrying. Indeed, the exposure of male fetuses to phthalates can have devastating consequences for ... read more

DNA Methylation Levels Linked to Obesity

A multidisciplinary study has linked DNA methylation levels to the development of the metabolic disease associated with obesity. A multidisciplinary work that has been carried out by biologists, ... read more

Older Biologic Age Linked to Elevated Breast Cancer Risk

Biologic age, a DNA-based estimate of a person's age, is associated with future development of breast cancer, according to scientists. Biologic age was determined by measuring DNA methylation, a ... read more

New Therapy for Aggressive Blood Cancer Discovered

Acute myeloid leukemia (AML) is the most common form of acute leukemia. It is characterized by an increase of malignant myeloid progenitor cells at the expense of mature blood cells. Only twenty-five ... read more

Sensitive Sensor Detects Down Syndrome DNA With Blood Test During Pregnancy

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Down syndrome is the most common birth defect, occurring once in every 700 births. However, traditional noninvasive prenatal tests for the ... read more

Infection Biology: What Makes Helicobacter So Adaptable?

The bacterial pathogen Helicobacter pylori owes its worldwide distribution to its genetic adaptability. Microbiologists have identified an enzyme that plays a vital role in the flexible control of ... read more

Heavy Drinking in Teens Causes Lasting Changes in Emotional Center of Brain

Lasting changes in the brain caused by drinking that starts in adolescence are the result of epigenetic changes that alter the expression of a protein crucial for the formation and maintenance of ... read more

Time-Lapse Microscopy Helps Reveal Brake Mechanism in Streptomyces Lifecycle

Streptomyces are soil-dwelling bacteria that produce approximately two-thirds of the antibiotics in current clinical ... read more

Novel Autism Mouse Model Based on an Epigenetic Gene Developed

In a new study, researchers describe how, in a novel mouse model, epigenetic regulation negatively impacts a downstream gene specifically involved in neurodevelopment and associated ... read more

Keeping Chromosomes in Check: A New Role for Heterochromatin

Large changes in the structure of chromosomes are usually fatal for the cell or can lead to genetic diseases such as cancer. Many large chromosomal rearrangements stem from short runs of repeated DNA ... read more

Differences Among Brain Neurons That Coincide With Psychiatric Conditions

Scientists have found about 13,000 regions of epigenetic differences between neurons in different brain regions that vary by at least 10 percent. The location of those epigenetic changes -- covering ... read more

When Less Is More: A Promising Approach for Low-Cell-Number Epigenomic Profiling

Scientists have developed a technique that enables analysis of DNA-protein interactions using very small numbers of cells, ranging from 100 to 1,000. Their method could capture previously unexamined ... read more

Natural Selection in the Womb Can Explain Health Problems in Adulthood

Conditions encountered in the womb can have life-long impact on health. Scientists previously assumed this is because embryos respond to adverse conditions by programming their gene expression. Now ... read more

Epigenetic Map May Pave Way for New Therapeutic Solutions to Hearing Loss

Epigenetics is the expression and control of genes. The epigenetics involved in the inner ear is a critical part of the mystery of hearing. A team has now created the first map of ... read more

Not in the DNA: Epigenetics Discovered in Single-Celled Archaea

Researchers have reported the first experimental evidence of epigenetics in the single-celled organisms known as archaea. The simplicity of archaea -- combined with the fact that their cells resemble ... read more

Proposed Cancer Treatment May Boost Lung Cancer Stem Cells, Study Warns

Epigenetic therapies -- targeting enzymes that alter what genes are turned on or off in a cell -- are of growing interest in the cancer field as a way of making a cancer less aggressive or less ... read more

A New Piece to the Puzzle Sheds Light on How UHRF1 Regulates Gene Activity

Scientists have discovered new details about the UHRF1 protein. UHRF1 catalyses particular steps that are required for marking DNA with epigenetic modifications that suppress parts of the genome. The ... read more

Studies Raise Questions Over How Epigenetic Information Is Inherited

Evidence has been building in recent years that our diet, our habits or traumatic experiences can have consequences for the health of our children -- and even our grandchildren. The explanation that ... read more

New Epigenetic Drug Strategy to Treat Cancer

Researchers have discovered that inhibiting CDK9, a DNA transcription regulator, reactivates genes that have been epigenetically silenced by cancer. Reactivation leads to restored tumor suppressor ... read more

Paternal Transmission of Epigenetic Memory Via Sperm

Studies of human populations and animal models suggest that a father's experiences such as diet or environmental stress can influence the health and development of his descendants. How these ... read more

Thursday, June 13, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Friday, June 29, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Friday, May 18, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018
Monday, April 30, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Thursday, April 5, 2018
Thursday, March 22, 2018
Friday, March 9, 2018
Thursday, March 8, 2018
Monday, March 5, 2018
Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Wednesday, February 14, 2018
Friday, February 2, 2018
Monday, January 29, 2018
Thursday, January 25, 2018
Tuesday, January 23, 2018
Tuesday, January 9, 2018
Thursday, January 4, 2018
Monday, January 1, 2018
Tuesday, December 19, 2017
Tuesday, December 12, 2017
Wednesday, December 6, 2017
Monday, November 27, 2017
Tuesday, November 21, 2017
Thursday, November 16, 2017
Monday, November 13, 2017
Thursday, November 2, 2017
Tuesday, October 31, 2017
Monday, October 30, 2017
Tuesday, October 24, 2017
Thursday, October 19, 2017
Tuesday, October 3, 2017
Thursday, September 14, 2017
Tuesday, September 12, 2017
Monday, September 11, 2017
Wednesday, August 30, 2017
Monday, August 28, 2017
Friday, August 18, 2017
Wednesday, August 16, 2017
Tuesday, August 15, 2017
Monday, August 7, 2017
Thursday, July 20, 2017
Wednesday, July 19, 2017
Tuesday, July 18, 2017
Monday, July 17, 2017
Monday, June 26, 2017
Monday, June 12, 2017
Wednesday, May 31, 2017
Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Thursday, May 4, 2017
Wednesday, May 3, 2017
Thursday, April 27, 2017
Wednesday, April 26, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017

http://www.vxiaotou.com