advertisement
Bone and Spine News
June 24, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Recreating Embryonic Conditions at Break Sites Can Help Bones Heal Faster

Researchers have developed a unique technique that uses stem cells and flexible implantable bone-stabilizing plates to help speed the healing of large breaks or ... read more

Bone Cells Suppress Cancer Metastases

A subpopulation of bone cells releases factors that can halt the growth of breast cancer that's traveled to the bone, putting the cells in ... read more

Young Bone Marrow Rejuvenates Aging Mouse Brains

A new study has found that transplanting the bone marrow of young laboratory mice into old mice prevented cognitive decline in the old mice, preserving their memory and learning abilities. The ... read more

Why Getting Enough Sleep Reduces Cardiovascular Disease Risk

Getting enough sleep is key to good health, and studies have shown that insufficient sleep increases the risk of serious problems, including cardiovascular disease. Now investigators have discovered ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 11:18pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Timed Release of Turmeric Stops Cancer Cell Growth

A new research team has developed a drug delivery system using curcumin, the main ingredient in the spice turmeric, that successfully inhibits bone cancer cells while promoting growth of healthy bone ... read more

One Step Closer to Chronic Pain Relief

While effective drugs against chronic pain are not just around the corner, researchers have succeeded in identifying a protein as a future potential target for medicinal drugs. Basic research shows ... read more

High Postural Sway Doubles Older Women's Fracture Risk

Postural sway is an independent risk factor for bone fractures in postmenopausal women, according to a new study. Women with the highest postural sway had a two times higher fracture risk compared to ... read more

Experimental Drug Can Encourage Bone Growth in Children With Dwarfism

Researchers report that an experimental drug called vosoritide, which interferes with certain proteins that block bone growth, allowed the average annual growth rate to increase in a study of 35 ... read more

Promising Treatment for Shoulder Pain in Wheelchair Users With Spinal Cord Injury

Researchers have reported the first case of successful, long-term relief of chronic refractory shoulder pain in a wheelchair user with spinal cord injury following a single injection of autologous, ... read more

Augmented ACL Reconstruction Procedure

An innovative procedure that explores the use of amnion, bone marrow concentrate and suture tape in ACL reconstruction may result in earlier return to play protocols for athletes, suggests a new ... read more

How Prostate Cancer Cells Mimic Bone When They Metastasize

Researchers describe how prostate cancer cells develop the ability to mimic bone-forming cells called osteoblasts, enabling them to proliferate in the bone ... read more

Microbes on Explanted Pedicle Screws: Possible Cause of Spinal Implant Failure

In this paper, the authors demonstrate a significant association between pedicle screw loosening and the presence of low-virulent pathogens on spinal ... read more

Soy Foods Linked to Fewer Fractures in Younger Breast Cancer Survivors

A new study has found that diets high in soy foods are associated with a decreased risk of osteoporotic bone fractures in pre-menopausal breast cancer ... read more

Many Stroke Patients Not Screened for Osteoporosis, Despite Known Risks

Many stroke survivors have an increased risk of osteoporosis, falls or breaks when compared to healthy people. This study provides further evidence of the importance of identifying risk and ... read more

Near-Atomic Map of Parathyroid Hormone Complex Points Toward New Therapies for Osteoporosis

An international team of scientists has mapped a molecular complex that could aid in the development of better medications with fewer side effects for osteoporosis and cancer. The near-atomic ... read more

Remedy for Painful Jaw Disease

Researchers report a breakthrough to prevent osteonecrosis of the jaw, a side effect suffered by some people undergoing treatment for cancer or ... read more

Active Lifestyles May Help Nerves to Heal After Spinal Injuries

Leading an active lifestyle may increase the likelihood of damaged nerves regenerating after a spinal cord ... read more

From Spinal Cord Injury to Recovery

Spinal cord injury disconnects communication between the brain and the spinal cord, disrupting control over part of the body. Studying the mechanisms of recovery, a researcher found that a specific ... read more

Microglia, Cells Thought Restricted to Central Nervous System, Are Redefined in New Study

Scientists have discovered microglia actually squeeze through the spinal boundary, crossing into the peripheral nervous system in response to ... read more

Transplanted Bone Marrow Endothelial Progenitor Cells Delay ALS Disease Progression

Transplanting human bone marrow-derived endothelial progenitor cells into mice mimicking symptoms of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) helped more motor neurons survive and slowed disease ... read more

Researchers Discover How Tumor-Killing Immune Cells Attack Lymphomas in Living Mice

Researchers reveal that chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T cells can induce tumor regression by directly targeting and killing cancer cells, uncovering new details of how these immune cells work and ... read more

Awake Lumbar Interbody Fusion

A new article provides the reader with a glimpse of how effective lumbar surgery in select patients can be when performed without general anesthesia, open surgery, or a long convalescence in the ... read more

3D-Printed Tissues May Keep Athletes in Action

Bioscientists have learned to 3D-print scaffolds that may help heal osteochondral injuries of the sort suffered by many ... read more

Implant to Better Track Brain Chemical Gone Rogue After Neurotrauma

Engineers have built a tiny, flexible sensor that is faster and more precise than past attempts at tracking a brain chemical elevated in brain diseases and ... read more

Thursday, June 20, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Saturday, March 23, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Saturday, March 16, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com