advertisement
Alzheimer's Research News
May 19, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Brain Stimulation Improves Working Memory in Adults

Magnetic stimulation of the brain improves working memory, offering a new potential avenue of therapy for individuals living with Alzheimer's disease and other forms of ... read more

Ragweed Compounds Could Protect Nerve Cells from Alzheimer's

As spring arrives in the northern hemisphere, many people are cursing ragweed, a primary culprit in seasonal allergies. But scientists might have discovered a promising new use for some substances ... read more

Brain Changes Linked With Alzheimer's Years Before Symptoms Appear

In a records review of 290 people at risk for Alzheimer's disease, scientists say they have identified an average level of biological and anatomical brain changes linked to Alzheimer's disease that ... read more

How Mutations Lead to Neurodegenerative Disease

Scientists have discovered how mutations in DNA can cause neurodegenerative disease. The discovery is an important step towards better treatment to slow the progression or delay onset in a range of ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 4:15am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Nanotubes Enable Travel of Huntington's Protein

Nanotube tunnels extend like bridges for the toxic Huntington's disease protein, and spring back after delivery, a new study ... read more

Could Sleep Molecules Lead to a Blood Test for Alzheimer's Disease?

A new study has found that a particular class of molecules may help with diagnosing Alzheimer's ... read more

New Molecule Maps Cerebrovascular System

A peptide is capable of binding to the blood-brain barrier that protects the central nervous system and could help create novel imaging tests to diagnose Alzheimer's and ... read more

Teaching Happiness to Dementia Caregivers Reduces Their Depression, Anxiety

Caring for family members with dementia -- which is on the rise in the US -- causes significant emotional and physical stress that increases caregivers' risk of depression, anxiety and death. A ... read more

Researchers performed the first comprehensive analysis of the genes altered in individual brain cells of patients with Alzheimer's disease, allowing them to identify the distinctive cellular ... read more

Restoring Brain Function in Mice With Symptoms of Alzheimer's Disease

A study in mice shows that selectively removing cells that are no longer dividing from the brains of mice with a form of Alzheimer's disease can reduce brain damage and inflammation, and slow ... read more

Rheumatoid Arthritis Patients Affected by Disabilities Well in Advance of Diagnosis

Patients diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis often are affected by functional disability a year or two before the disease is diagnosed, according to new research. The results of the study suggest ... read more

When Is 'Alzheimer's' Not Alzheimer's? Researchers Characterize a Different Form of Dementia

Alzheimer's is dementia, but not all dementias are Alzheimer's (which may explain why so many Alzheimer's drugs have failed in clinical trials). A new study provides a framework for a ... read more

Researchers Define Alzheimer's-Like Brain Disorder

A brain disorder that mimics symptoms of Alzheimer's disease has been defined with recommended diagnostic criteria and guidelines for advancing future research on the ... read more

Paving the Way for Innovative Treatment of Epilepsy

Researchers have discovered that a drug commonly used to treat multiple sclerosis may, after necessary modifications, one day be used to treat patients with ... read more

Exercise Activates Memory Neural Networks in Older Adults

A new study of healthy older adults shows that just one session of exercise increased activation in the brain circuits associated with memory -- including the hippocampus -- which shrinks with age ... read more

Drugs to Prevent Stroke and Dementia Show Promise in Early Trial

Treatments that prevent recurrence of types of stroke and dementia caused by damage to small blood vessels in the brain have moved a step closer, following a small ... read more

A Video Game Aids in Research on Alzheimer's Disease

A new study based on data collected from a spatial navigation video game has shown that poor spatial orientation as an indicator can help in early diagnosis of Alzheimer's disease, even prior to ... read more

New Synthesis Strategy Speeds Identification of Simpler Versions of a Natural Product

A new chemical synthesis strategy to harvest the rich information found in natural products -- organic compounds isolated from natural sources -- has led to the identification of novel, simpler ... read more

How Fish Brain Cells React to Alzheimer's Disease

Researchers have studied the regenerative capacity of zebrafish brain in single cell resolution with the aim of developing novel strategies against ... read more

More Evidence That Blood Tests Can Detect the Risk of Alzheimer's

A new study confirms that a simple blood test can reveal whether there is accelerating nerve cell damage in the brain. The researchers analyzed neurofilament light protein (NFL) in blood samples from ... read more

'Is amyloid precursor protein the mastermind behind Alzheimer's or is it just an accomplice?' Researchers devised a multi-functional reporter for amyloid precursor protein and tracked ... read more

Light, Physical Activity Reduces Brain Aging

Incremental physical activity, even at light intensity, is associated with larger brain volume and healthy brain aging, according to new ... read more

Low Scam Awareness in Old Age May Be an Early Sign of Impending Cognitive Decline and Dementia

Low scam awareness in older people is associated with risk for developing Alzheimer dementia or mild cognitive impairment in the future. These findings suggest that changes in social judgment occur ... read more

Synthetic Peptide Can Inhibit Toxicity, Aggregation of Protein in Alzheimer's Disease

Researchers have developed synthetic peptides that target and inhibit the small, toxic protein aggregates that are thought to trigger Alzheimer's ... read more

Friday, May 10, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Friday, April 19, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Sunday, April 7, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Sunday, March 3, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com