advertisement
Paleontology News
January 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 9:56pm EST

More Paleontology News
January 20, 2019

Jan. 16, 2019 — The onset of the most recent ice age about 2.6 million years ago changed where the western Gulf of Mexico gets its supply of sediments. The finding adds new insight into how extreme climate change ... read more

Dec. 19, 2018 — Sea levels are rising globally from ocean warming and melting of land ice, but the seas aren't rising at the same rate everywhere. Sea levels have risen significantly faster in some US East ... read more

Dec. 19, 2018 — Over 450 millipedes, fossilized in 100-million-year-old Burmese amber, were recently discovered by a research team. Using micro-CT technology, the scientists identified 13 out of the 16 main groups ... read more

Dec. 19, 2018 — A strontium analysis of fossilized horse teeth from Florida found that the animals did not travel far from where they were born. Researchers also found evidence that prehistoric horses fed along the ... read more

New Light Shed on What Drove Last, Long-Term Global Climate Shift

Dec. 19, 2018 — The quest to discover what drove the last, long-term global climate shift on Earth, which took place around a million years ago, has taken a new, revealing ... read more

Dec. 18, 2018 — The discovery in China of fossil specimens of a flower called Nanjinganthus from the Early Jurassic shakes up widely accepted theories of plant ... read more

Dec. 18, 2018 — MicroCT scans of the Australopithecus fossil known as Little Foot shows that the brain of this ancient human relative was small and shows features that are similar to our own brain and others that ... read more

Dec. 18, 2018 — Scientists look to fossils and evolutionary trees to help determine the rate of evolution -- albeit with conflicting results. A new model has helped to resolve these ... read more

Dec. 17, 2018 — An international team of palaeontologists has discovered that the flying reptiles, pterosaurs, actually had four kinds of feathers, and these are shared with dinosaurs -- pushing back the origin of ... read more

Dec. 17, 2018 — More than 85 well-preserved dinosaur footprints -- made by at least seven different species -- have been uncovered in East Sussex, representing the most diverse and detailed collection of these trace ... read more

Dec. 14, 2018 — When making sense of the massive amount of information packed into an ice core, scientists face a forensic challenge: how best to separate the useful information from the corrupt. Tools from ... read more

Dec. 13, 2018 — Our understanding of when the very first animals started living on land is helped by identifying trace fossils -- the tracks and trails left by ancient animals -- in sedimentary rocks that were ... read more

Dec. 12, 2018 — Thyalacoleo carnifex, the 'marsupial lion' of Pleistocene Australia, was an adept hunter that got around with the help of a strong tail, according to a new study. These insights come after ... read more

Dec. 12, 2018 — Why did the first big, complex organisms spring to life in deep, dark oceans where food was scarce? A new study finds great depths provided a stable, life-sustaining refuge from wild temperature ... read more

Chickens to Be Marker of Anthropocene

Dec. 12, 2018 — New research shows the age of man -- the Anthropocene -- will be defined by the ... read more

Dec. 10, 2018 — Our future on Earth may also be our past. Researchers show that humans are reversing a long-term cooling trend tracing back at least 50 million years. And it's taken just two ... read more

Dec. 10, 2018 — Iridescence is responsible for some of the most striking visual displays in the animal kingdom. Now, thanks to a new study of feathers from almost 100 modern bird species, scientists have gained new ... read more

Dec. 10, 2018 — Scientists reveal that Australia's pint-sized banded hare-wallaby is the closest living relative of the giant short-faced kangaroos which roamed the continent for millions of years, but died out ... read more

Dec. 6, 2018 — By combining ocean models, animal metabolism and fossil records, researchers show that the Permian mass extinction in the oceans was caused by global warming that left animals unable to breathe. As ... read more

Dec. 5, 2018 — An ancient, dolphin-like marine reptile resembles its distant relative in more than appearance, according to an international team of researchers. Molecular and microstructural analysis of a ... read more

Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Friday, September 14, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Thursday, August 23, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com