advertisement
Origin of Life News
May 19, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Neanderthals and modern humans diverged at least 800,000 years ago, substantially earlier than indicated by most DNA-based ... read more
The first humans who settled in Scandinavia more than 10,000 years ago left their DNA behind in ancient chewing gums, which are masticated lumps made from birch ... read more
Researchers have discovered that 6000-years-ago people across Europe shared a cultural tradition of using freshwater mussel shells to ... read more
So far Denisovans were only known from a small collection of fossil fragments from Denisova Cave in Siberia. A research team now describes a 160,000-year-old hominin mandible ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 4:53am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Evolution from Water to Land Led to Better Parenting

The evolution of aquatic creatures to start living on land made them into more attentive parents, says new research on ... read more

Ancient organic matter of biological origin has been tracked in multiple samples of rock spanning over 2,000 million years of Earth's history, according to ... read more

A new study suggests that the genetic profiles of two extinct mammals with African ancestry -- woolly mammoths and Neanderthals -- shared molecular characteristics of adaptation to cold ... read more

Evolution Imposes 'Speed Limit' on Recovery After Mass Extinctions

It takes at least 10 million years for life to fully recover after a mass extinction, a speed limit for the recovery of species diversity that is well known among scientists. Explanations for this ... read more

Digging Ancient Signals out of Modern Human Genomes

Trying to find ancient DNA, let alone prove that the ancient DNA is ancestral to a population living today, is extremely challenging. A new study adds to this understanding by reconstructing ... read more

How could prebiotic information-bearing DNA sequences survive in the face of competition from a vast excess of shorter molecules with random sequences? Scientists now show that a relatively simple ... read more

Scientists for the first time have found strong evidence that RNA and DNA could have arisen from the same set of precursor molecules even before life evolved on Earth about four billion years ... read more

Cool Earth Theory Sheds More Light on Diamonds

A geologist has a new theory on the thermal evolution of Earth billions of years ago that explains why diamonds have formed as precious gemstones rather than just lumps of common ... read more

The Struggle for Life in the Dead Sea Sediments: Necrophagy as a Survival Mechanism

The Dead Sea is not completely dead. The most saline lake on Earth (more than 10 times saltier than sea water) is a harsh environment where only salt-loving microbes from the Archaea domain, known as ... read more

Newly Discovered Medusavirus Give New Insights on How Organisms and Viruses Co-Evolved

Researchers find a new giant virus in the hot springs of northern Japan. It's unique genetic makeup of histones and capsid proteins brings new insight into virus ... read more

Half-a-Billion-Year-Old Fossil Reveals the Origins of Comb Jellies

One of the ocean's little known carnivores has been allocated a new place in the evolutionary tree of life after scientists discovered its unmistakable resemblance with other sea-floor dwelling ... read more

Using their own laser imaging technology, scientists have determined the lifestyle of a special hatchling bird by revealing the previously unknown feathering preserved in the fossil specimen found in ... read more

North Africans Were Among the First to Colonize the Canary Islands

People from North Africa are likely the main group that founded the indigenous population on the Canary Islands, arriving by 1000 CE, reports a new ... read more

First Anatolian Farmers Were Local Hunter-Gatherers That Adopted Agriculture

An international team has analyzed eight prehistoric individuals, including the first genome-wide data from a 15,000-year-old Anatolian hunter-gatherer, and found that the first Anatolian farmers ... read more

Hepatitis B Virus Sheds Light on Ancient Human Population Movements Into Australia

Australian researchers have used hepatitis B virus genome sequences to deduce that the mainland Aboriginal population separated from other early humans at least 59,000 years ... read more

Unique Diversity of the Genetic History of the Iberian Peninsula Revealed by Dual Studies

Researchers have analyzed ancient DNA from almost 300 individuals from the Iberian Peninsula, spanning more than 12,000 years. The first study looked at hunter-gatherers and early farmers living in ... read more

Fossil Teeth from Kenya Solve Ancient Monkey Mystery

The teeth of a new fossil monkey, unearthed in the badlands of northwest Kenya, help fill a 6-million-year void in Old World monkey evolution, according to a new ... read more

Ancient Records Prompt Rethink of Animal Evolution Timeline

Scientists are rethinking a major milestone in animal evolution, after gaining fresh insights into how life on Earth diversified millions of years ... read more

Horseshoe Crabs Are Really Relatives of Spiders, Scorpions

By analyzing troves of genetic data and considering a vast number of possible ways to examine it, scientists now have a high degree of confidence that horseshoe crabs do indeed belong within the ... read more

Proofs of Parallel Evolution Between Cognition, Tool Development, and Social Complexity

A study has used eye-tracking techniques to analyze the processes of selective attention that determine the way in which we explore and interact with our environment. Researchers studied the ... read more

Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com