advertisement
Lost Treasures News
May 19, 2019

Top Headlines
 

New discoveries made at the Klasies River Cave in South Africa's southern Cape, where charred food remains from hearths were found, provide the first archaeological evidence ... read more
The first humans who settled in Scandinavia more than 10,000 years ago left their DNA behind in ancient chewing gums, which are masticated lumps made from birch ... read more
Today's hipster creatives and entrepreneurs are hardly the first generation to partake of ayahuasca, according to archaeologists who have discovered traces of the powerfully ... read more
Ancient fire remains provide evidence of Neanderthal group mobility and settlement patterns and indicate specific occupation episodes, according to a ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 4:53am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

A 5,000-year-old barley grain discovered in Aland, southern Finland, turns researchers' understanding of ancient Northern livelihoods upside down. New findings reveal that hunter-gatherers took ... read more

An ancient group of people made ritual offerings to supernatural deities near the Island of the Sun in Lake Titicaca, Bolivia, about 500 years earlier than the Incas, according to an international ... read more

Prehistoric rock paintings are a source of fascination. Aside from their beauty, there's deep meaning in these strokes, which depict ancient rituals and important symbols. Scientists now ... read more

Archaeologists used the latest technology to find evidence suggesting ancient Maya people grew surplus crops to support an active trade with neighbors up and down the Yucatan Peninsula. The extensive ... read more

At age 90, Ali Atar, one of the main military chiefs of King Boabdil of Granada, fought to his death in the Battle of Lucena in 1483. It was there that his magnificent Nasrid sword was taken away ... read more

Researchers have long thought that snail and clam shells found at Caribbean archaeological sites were evidence of 'starvation food' eaten in times when other resources were lacking. Now, a ... read more

North Africans Were Among the First to Colonize the Canary Islands

People from North Africa are likely the main group that founded the indigenous population on the Canary Islands, arriving by 1000 CE, reports a new ... read more

Underwater Surveys in Emerald Bay Reveal the Nature and Activity of Lake Tahoe Faults

Emerald Bay, California, a beautiful location on the southwestern shore of Lake Tahoe, is surrounded by rugged landscape, including rocky cliffs and remnants of mountain glaciers. Scenic as it may ... read more

Sea Otters' Tool Use Leaves Behind Distinctive Archaeological Evidence

Researchers have analyzed the use by sea otters of large, shoreline rocks as 'anvils' to break open shells, as well as the resulting shell middens. The researchers used ecological and ... read more

Major Cosmic Impact 12,800 Years Ago

When geologists set out years ago to examine signs of a major cosmic impact that occurred toward the end of the Pleistocene epoch, little did they know just how far-reaching the projected climatic ... read more

Hundreds of Children and Llamas Sacrificed in a Ritual Event in 15th Century Peru

A mass sacrifice at a 15th century archaeological site in Peru saw the ritual killing of over 140 children and over 200 llamas, according to a new study. This is the largest known mass sacrifice of ... read more

Vast Record of Past Climate Fluctuations Now Available Thanks to Laser Imaging of Shells

An international team has developed newly refined techniques for obtaining past climate data from mollusc shells. Mollusc shells are abundant in archaeological sites spanning the last 160,000 years. ... read more

Oldest Tattoo Tool in Western North America

Archaeologists have discovered the oldest tattooing artifact in western North America. The tool was made around 2,000 years ago by the Ancestral Pueblo people of the Basketmaker II period in what is ... read more

High-Tech Laser Scans Uncover Hidden Military Traverse at Alcatraz Island

High-tech radar and laser scans have uncovered a hidden military traverse underneath the infamous Alcatraz ... read more

Climate Change Contributed to Fall of Cahokia

A new study shows climate change may have contributed to the decline of Cahokia, a famed prehistoric city near present-day St. Louis. And it involves ancient human ... read more

Quarrying of Stonehenge 'Bluestones' Dated to 3000 BC

Excavations at two quarries in Wales, known to be the source of the Stonehenge 'bluestones', provide new evidence of megalith quarrying 5,000 years ... read more

Biocolonizer Species Are Putting the Conservation of the Granite at Machu Picchu at Risk

A research group has used a non-destructive methodology to determine the role of specific algae, lichens, mosses, cyanobacteria, etc. that may be causing exfoliation and delamination, which are ... read more

'X-Ray Gun' Helps Researchers Pinpoint the Origins of Pottery Found on Ancient Shipwreck

About 800 years ago, a ship sank in the Java Sea. There are no written records saying where the ship was going or where it came from -- the only clues are the mostly-disintegrated structure of the ... read more

Sexing Ancient Cremated Human Remains Is Possible Through Skeletal Measurements

Ancient cremated human remains, despite being deformed, still retain sexually diagnostic physical features, according to a new study. The authors provide a statistical approach for identifying traits ... read more

Deep History of Archaic Humans in Southern Siberia

Scientists have identified the earliest evidence of some of the first known humans -- Denisovans and Neanderthals, in southern ... read more

Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Friday, August 10, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Monday, July 23, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Thursday, May 17, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Wednesday, May 2, 2018
Thursday, April 26, 2018
Wednesday, April 25, 2018
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Monday, April 2, 2018
Thursday, March 29, 2018
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Thursday, March 22, 2018
Monday, March 19, 2018
Friday, March 16, 2018
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Tuesday, February 27, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com