advertisement
Fossils News
January 18, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 1:26pm EST

More Fossils News
January 18, 2019

Dec. 19, 2018 — Over 450 millipedes, fossilized in 100-million-year-old Burmese amber, were recently discovered by a research team. Using micro-CT technology, the scientists identified 13 out of the 16 main groups ... read more

Dec. 18, 2018 — The discovery in China of fossil specimens of a flower called Nanjinganthus from the Early Jurassic shakes up widely accepted theories of plant ... read more

Dec. 18, 2018 — MicroCT scans of the Australopithecus fossil known as Little Foot shows that the brain of this ancient human relative was small and shows features that are similar to our own brain and others that ... read more

Dec. 18, 2018 — Scientists look to fossils and evolutionary trees to help determine the rate of evolution -- albeit with conflicting results. A new model has helped to resolve these ... read more

Dec. 13, 2018 — A distinctive feature of modern humans is our round (globular) skulls and brains. Researchers report that present-day humans who carry particular Neanderthal DNA fragments have heads that are ... read more

Dec. 13, 2018 — Our understanding of when the very first animals started living on land is helped by identifying trace fossils -- the tracks and trails left by ancient animals -- in sedimentary rocks that were ... read more

Dec. 13, 2018 — Researchers studying ancient corncobs found at a Native American archeological site have recovered a 1,000-year-old virus, the oldest plant virus ever ... read more

Dec. 12, 2018 — Thyalacoleo carnifex, the 'marsupial lion' of Pleistocene Australia, was an adept hunter that got around with the help of a strong tail, according to a new study. These insights come after ... read more

Dec. 10, 2018 — Scientists reveal that Australia's pint-sized banded hare-wallaby is the closest living relative of the giant short-faced kangaroos which roamed the continent for millions of years, but died out ... read more

Dec. 6, 2018 — By combining ocean models, animal metabolism and fossil records, researchers show that the Permian mass extinction in the oceans was caused by global warming that left animals unable to breathe. As ... read more

Dec. 5, 2018 — An ancient, dolphin-like marine reptile resembles its distant relative in more than appearance, according to an international team of researchers. Molecular and microstructural analysis of a ... read more

Dec. 5, 2018 — Scientists have advanced our understanding of how ancient animals saw the world by combining the study of fossils and ... read more

Nov. 30, 2018 — If discovered as fossils, grey and ringed seals are so different that they could be classified as belonging to different families. Yet, a seal pup born in 1929 was found to be an almost perfect ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — Rivaling the evolution of feathers in dinosaurs, one of the most extraordinary transformations in the history of life was the evolution of baleen -- rows of flexible hair-like plates that blue ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — A new study breaks with the paradigm that the cradle of humankind lies in East Africa, based on the archaeological remains found at sites in the region of Ain Hanech (Algeria), the oldest currently ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — A new fossil analysis suggests the earliest-known ancestor of modern primates may have come from North America, not Asia, as previously ... read more

Nov. 28, 2018 — Scientists have succeeded in developing a new indicator (proxy) of ancient CO2 levels, using the organic molecule phytane, a debris product of chlorophyll. This new organic proxy not only provides ... read more

Nov. 28, 2018 — Ancient wildfires played a crucial role in the formation and spread of grasslands like those that now cover large parts of the ... read more

Nov. 27, 2018 — Microbes could have performed oxygen-producing photosynthesis at least one billion years earlier in the history of the Earth than previously ... read more

Nov. 27, 2018 — As far back as 40,000 years ago, humans kept track of time using relatively sophisticated knowledge of the stars, new research ... read more

Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Friday, September 14, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Monday, September 3, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Thursday, August 23, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com