advertisement
Early Mammals News
May 20, 2019

Top Headlines
 

A new study has identified three factors critical in the rise of mammal communities since they first emerged during the Age ... read more
African apes adapted to living on the ground, a finding that indicates human evolved from an ancestor not limited to tree or other elevated habitats. The analysis adds a new ... read more
Paleontologists have discovered a new species of meat-eating mammal larger than any big cat stalking the world today. Larger than a polar bear, with a skull as large as that ... read more
A new study suggests that the genetic profiles of two extinct mammals with African ancestry -- woolly mammoths and Neanderthals -- shared molecular characteristics of ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 8:54am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Museum Volunteers Discover New Species of Extinct Heron at North Florida Fossil Site

When the bones of an ancient heron were unearthed at a North Florida fossil site, the find wasn't made by researchers but by two Florida Museum of Natural History volunteers. A previously ... read more

Marsupial Lived Among Arctic Dinosaurs

A research team has discovered a previously unknown species of marsupial that lived in Alaska's Arctic during the era of dinosaurs, adding a vivid new detail to a complex ancient landscape. The ... read more

Neanderthals' Main Food Source Was Definitely Meat

Researchers describe two late Neanderthals with exceptionally high nitrogen isotope ratios, which would traditionally be interpreted as the signature of freshwater fish consumption. By studying the ... read more

Indigenous Hunters Have Positive Impacts on Food Webs in Desert Australia

Australia has the highest rate of mammal extinction in the world. Resettlement of indigenous communities resulted in the spread of invasive species, the absence of human-set fires, and a general ... read more

Giant 'Megalodon' Shark Extinct Earlier Than Previously Thought

'Megalodon' -- a giant predatory shark that has inspired numerous documentaries, books and blockbuster movies -- likely went extinct at least one million years earlier than previously ... read more

Earliest Known Seed-Eating Perching Bird Discovered in Fossil Lake, Wyoming

The 'perching birds,' or passerines, are the most common birds in the world today -- they include sparrows, robins, and finches. They used to be very rare. Scientists have just discovered ... read more

Iguana-Sized Dinosaur Cousin Discovered in Antarctica

Scientists have discovered the fossils of an iguana-sized reptile, which they named 'Antarctic king,' that lived at the South Pole 250 million years ago (it used to be warmer). Antarctanax ... read more

Piece to the Puzzle of Baleen Whales' Evolution

A researcher has added another piece to the puzzle of the evolution of modern baleen whales with a new study examining the teeth and enamel of baleen whales' ... read more

Skull Scans Tell Tale of How World's First Dogs Caught Their Prey

Analysis of the skulls of lions, wolves and hyenas has helped scientists uncover how prehistoric dogs hunted 40 million years ... read more

Soft Tissue Shows Jurassic Ichthyosaur Was Warm-Blooded, Had Blubber and Camouflage

An ancient, dolphin-like marine reptile resembles its distant relative in more than appearance, according to an international team of researchers. Molecular and microstructural analysis of a ... read more

Whales Lost Their Teeth Before Evolving Hair-Like Baleen in Their Mouths

Rivaling the evolution of feathers in dinosaurs, one of the most extraordinary transformations in the history of life was the evolution of baleen -- rows of flexible hair-like plates that blue ... read more

Human Ancestors Not to Blame for Ancient Mammal Extinctions in Africa

New research disputes a long-held view that our earliest tool-bearing ancestors contributed to the demise of large mammals in Africa over the last several million years. Instead, the researchers ... read more

Gigantic Mammal 'Cousin' Discovered

During the Triassic period (252-201 million years ago) mammal-like reptiles called therapsids co-existed with ancestors to dinosaurs, crocodiles, mammals, pterosaurs, turtles, frogs, and lizards. One ... read more

Late Miocene Ape Maxilla (Upper Jaw) Discovered in Western India

An ape maxilla (upper jaw) from the Late Miocene found in the Kutch basin, in western India, significantly extends the southern range of ancient apes in the Indian Peninsula, according to a new ... read more

Deep-Time Evolution of Animal Life on Islands

A new article describes two new fossil relatives of marsupials that shed light on how a unique island ecosystem evolved some 43 million years ago during the ... read more

Primates of the Caribbean: Ancient DNA Reveals History of Mystery Monkey

Analysis of ancient DNA of a mysterious extinct monkey named Xenothrix -- which displays bizarre body characteristics very different to any living monkey -- has revealed that it was in fact most ... read more

Oldest Fossil of a Flying Squirrel Sheds New Light on Its Evolutionary Tree

The oldest flying squirrel fossil ever found has unearthed new insight on the origin and evolution of these airborne ... read more

What Makes a Mammal a Mammal? Our Spine, Say Scientists

Mammals are unique in many ways. We're warm-blooded and agile in comparison with our reptilian ... read more

Tiny Fossils Reveal How Shrinking Was Essential for Successful Evolution

A new study shows that getting smaller was a key factor contributing to the exceptional evolution of mammals over the last 200 million ... read more

Mammal Forerunner That Reproduced Like a Reptile Sheds Light on Brain Evolution

Compared with the rest of the animal kingdom, mammals have the biggest brains and produce some of the smallest litters of offspring. A newly described fossil of an extinct mammal relative -- and her ... read more

Friday, May 17, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Friday, July 13, 2018
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Friday, June 8, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Monday, May 28, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Monday, May 7, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Monday, April 16, 2018
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
Thursday, March 22, 2018
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Monday, March 5, 2018
Monday, February 26, 2018
Monday, February 12, 2018
Tuesday, February 6, 2018
Wednesday, January 31, 2018
Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Monday, January 29, 2018
Wednesday, January 10, 2018
Thursday, December 14, 2017
Thursday, December 7, 2017
Monday, December 4, 2017
Thursday, November 30, 2017
Friday, November 17, 2017
Thursday, November 9, 2017
Tuesday, November 7, 2017
Monday, November 6, 2017
Thursday, November 2, 2017
Wednesday, October 25, 2017
Thursday, October 19, 2017
Wednesday, October 18, 2017
Monday, October 16, 2017
Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Monday, October 2, 2017
Wednesday, September 20, 2017
Monday, September 11, 2017
Thursday, September 7, 2017
Wednesday, August 30, 2017
Thursday, August 24, 2017
Wednesday, August 23, 2017
Tuesday, August 22, 2017
Thursday, August 17, 2017
Wednesday, August 9, 2017
Friday, August 4, 2017
Monday, July 24, 2017
Wednesday, July 5, 2017
Monday, June 26, 2017
Thursday, June 22, 2017
Wednesday, June 21, 2017
Wednesday, June 14, 2017
Wednesday, May 24, 2017
Thursday, May 18, 2017
Wednesday, May 17, 2017
Tuesday, May 16, 2017
Thursday, May 11, 2017
Thursday, April 27, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017

http://www.vxiaotou.com