advertisement
Archaeology News
March 21, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 5:56pm EDT

More Archaeology News
March 21, 2019

Indigenous Hunters Have Positive Impacts on Food Webs in Desert Australia

Feb. 17, 2019 — Australia has the highest rate of mammal extinction in the world. Resettlement of indigenous communities resulted in the spread of invasive species, the absence of human-set fires, and a general ... read more

Feb. 13, 2019 — A new dinosaur that wears its 'heart' on its tail provides new clues to how ecosystems evolved on the African continent during the Cretaceous ... read more

Feb. 7, 2019 — The 'perching birds,' or passerines, are the most common birds in the world today -- they include sparrows, robins, and finches. They used to be very rare. Scientists have just discovered ... read more

Medieval Inks for Heritage Conservation

Feb. 5, 2019 — Researchers have replicated five medieval inks using 15th and 16th century ... read more

Feb. 4, 2019 — In the Bronze Age, the Caucasus Mountains region was a cultural and genetic contact zone. Here, cultures that originated in Mesopotamia interacted with local hunter-gatherers, Anatolian farmers, and ... read more

Sexing Ancient Cremated Human Remains Is Possible Through Skeletal Measurements

Jan. 30, 2019 — Ancient cremated human remains, despite being deformed, still retain sexually diagnostic physical features, according to a new study. The authors provide a statistical approach for identifying traits ... read more

Deep History of Archaic Humans in Southern Siberia

Jan. 30, 2019 — Scientists have identified the earliest evidence of some of the first known humans -- Denisovans and Neanderthals, in southern ... read more

Jan. 21, 2019 — Skin color is one of the most visible and variable traits among humans and scientists have always been curious about how this variation evolved. Now, a study of diverse Latin American populations has ... read more

DNA Tool Allows You to Trace Your Ancient Ancestry

Jan. 14, 2019 — Scientists at the University of Sheffield studying ancient DNA have created a tool allowing them to more accurately identify ancient Eurasian populations, which can be used to test an ... read more

Jan. 9, 2019 — The stomach contents of ancient whale Basilosaurus isis suggest it was an apex predator, according to a new ... read more

Jan. 9, 2019 — Researchers have revealed direct evidence of medieval women's involvement in the production of illuminated manuscripts. Lapis lazuli in the dental calculus of a woman buried at a 12th-century ... read more

Genetic Study Reveals How Citrus Became the Med's Favorite Squeeze

Dec. 20, 2018 — Genetic detective work has illuminated the important role of Jewish culture in the widespread adoption of citrus fruit by early Mediterranean ... read more

Dec. 18, 2018 — MicroCT scans of the Australopithecus fossil known as Little Foot shows that the brain of this ancient human relative was small and shows features that are similar to our own brain and others that ... read more

Dec. 13, 2018 — Our understanding of when the very first animals started living on land is helped by identifying trace fossils -- the tracks and trails left by ancient animals -- in sedimentary rocks that were ... read more

Dec. 13, 2018 — Researchers studying ancient corncobs found at a Native American archeological site have recovered a 1,000-year-old virus, the oldest plant virus ever ... read more

Dec. 12, 2018 — Thyalacoleo carnifex, the 'marsupial lion' of Pleistocene Australia, was an adept hunter that got around with the help of a strong tail, according to a new study. These insights come after ... read more

Chickens to Be Marker of Anthropocene

Dec. 12, 2018 — New research shows the age of man -- the Anthropocene -- will be defined by the ... read more

Dec. 6, 2018 — Researchers have identified a new strain of Yersinia pestis, the bacteria that causes plague, in DNA extracted from 5,000-year-old human remains. Their analyses suggest that this strain is the ... read more

Nov. 27, 2018 — As far back as 40,000 years ago, humans kept track of time using relatively sophisticated knowledge of the stars, new research ... read more

First Ancient DNA from Mainland Finland Reveals Origins of Siberian Ancestry in Region

Nov. 27, 2018 — A new study shows that the genetic makeup of northern Europe traces back to migrations from Siberia that began at least 3,500 years ago and that, as recently as the Iron Age, ancestors of the Saami ... read more

Sunday, February 17, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Monday, September 3, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Saturday, July 28, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Friday, July 6, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Monday, July 2, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Sunday, June 17, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Wednesday, June 13, 2018
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
Friday, June 8, 2018
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Friday, June 1, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com