advertisement
Anthropology News
January 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 9:56pm EST

More Anthropology News
January 20, 2019

Dec. 13, 2018 — A distinctive feature of modern humans is our round (globular) skulls and brains. Researchers report that present-day humans who carry particular Neanderthal DNA fragments have heads that are ... read more

Dec. 6, 2018 — Researchers have identified a new strain of Yersinia pestis, the bacteria that causes plague, in DNA extracted from 5,000-year-old human remains. Their analyses suggest that this strain is the ... read more

Dec. 4, 2018 — In a new study, a team of researchers examined the social composition of raiding parties and their relationship to marriage alliances in an Amazonian tribal society, the Waorani of Ecuador. The ... read more

Dec. 3, 2018 — Sambaqui societies had sophisticated diet. Study suggests that hunter-gatherer communities living in coastal Atlantic Forest areas between 8,000 and 1,000 years ago consumed a range of plants and ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — Human ancestors first set foot on the interior of the Qinghai-Tibetan Plateau around 30,000-40,000 years ago, according to new research. This new finding moves back the earliest data of habitation in ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — Rivaling the evolution of feathers in dinosaurs, one of the most extraordinary transformations in the history of life was the evolution of baleen -- rows of flexible hair-like plates that blue ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — Beginning more than 1.5 million years ago, early humans made stone handaxes in a style known as the Acheulean - the longest lasting tool-making tradition in prehistory. New research has documented an ... read more

Nov. 27, 2018 — Microbes could have performed oxygen-producing photosynthesis at least one billion years earlier in the history of the Earth than previously ... read more

Nov. 27, 2018 — As far back as 40,000 years ago, humans kept track of time using relatively sophisticated knowledge of the stars, new research ... read more

First Ancient DNA from Mainland Finland Reveals Origins of Siberian Ancestry in Region

Nov. 27, 2018 — A new study shows that the genetic makeup of northern Europe traces back to migrations from Siberia that began at least 3,500 years ago and that, as recently as the Iron Age, ancestors of the Saami ... read more

Nov. 23, 2018 — New research disputes a long-held view that our earliest tool-bearing ancestors contributed to the demise of large mammals in Africa over the last several million years. Instead, the researchers ... read more

Nov. 21, 2018 — The fossil record of early hominins in South Africa is biased towards periods of drier climate, suggests a study of cave deposits. This finding suggests there are gaps in the fossil record, ... read more

Nov. 19, 2018 — A study by an international team of researchers have determines that carved stone tools, also known as Levallois cores, were used in Asia 80,000 to 170,000 years ago. With the find -- and absent ... read more

Nov. 14, 2018 — An ape maxilla (upper jaw) from the Late Miocene found in the Kutch basin, in western India, significantly extends the southern range of ancient apes in the Indian Peninsula, according to a new ... read more

Nov. 12, 2018 — Analysis of ancient DNA of a mysterious extinct monkey named Xenothrix -- which displays bizarre body characteristics very different to any living monkey -- has revealed that it was in fact most ... read more

Nov. 12, 2018 — A new study has revealed new insights into ancient fishing throughout history, including what type of fish people were regularly eating as part of their ... read more

Nov. 12, 2018 — Researchers have come up with a new way to estimate the biological sex of human skeletal remains based on protein traces from ... read more

Nov. 9, 2018 — Study by 72 researchers from eight countries concludes that the Lagoa Santa people are descendants of Clovis culture migrants from North America. Distinctly African features attributed to Luzia were ... read more

Nov. 9, 2018 — Stone tools that were discovered and examined by a group of international experts showed for the first time that various communities that lived during the Middle Stone Age period were widely ... read more

Nov. 8, 2018 — A team has used genome-wide ancient DNA data to revise Central and South American history. Their analysis of DNA from 49 individuals spanning about 10,000 years in Belize, Brazil, the Central Andes, ... read more

Thursday, December 13, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Monday, September 3, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Friday, August 10, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Saturday, July 28, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com