advertisement
Education & Learning News
May 19, 2019

Top Headlines
 

'Imagine...' -- Our Attitudes Can Change Solely by the Power of Imagination

Our attitudes can be influenced not only by what we actually experience but also by what we ... read more
Working memory is your ability to hold things 'in mind.' It acts as a workspace in which information can be held, manipulated, and used to guide behavior. It plays a critical ... read more

Regular Crosswords and Number Puzzles Linked to Sharper Brain in Later Life

Older adults who regularly take part in word and number puzzles have sharper brains, according to the largest online study to ... read more

Preschoolers Who Watch TV Sleep Less

Preschoolers who watch TV sleep significantly less than those who don't, according to new ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 5:18am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Early Exposure to Banking May Influence Life-Long Financial Health

Growing up in a community with or without banks has a long-term effect on how you build and manage credit, according to a new study. The research shows individuals who grow up in what are essentially ... read more

Speech Recognition Technology Is Not a Solution for Poor Readers

Could artificial intelligence be a solution for people who cannot read well (functional illiterates) or those who cannot read at all (complete illiterates)? According to psycholinguists, speech ... read more

'Doing Science,' Rather Than 'Being Scientists,' More Encouraging to Those Underrepresented in the Field

Over the course of a school year, elementary school children lose confidence that they can 'be scientists,' but remain more confident that they can 'do ... read more

New research finds that teacher assessments are equally as reliable as standardized exams at predicting educational ... read more

Receiving Weekend Food Improves School Attendance Among Children Living With Hunger

Children living in food-insecure households are more likely to attend school on Fridays if they're participating in a food-distribution program that provides them with backpacks of meals for the ... read more

Can Recreational Sports Really Make You a Better Student?

A new study adds to growing evidence that participating in recreational sports not only can help improve grades while attending college, but it also can help students return for another ... read more

'Good Enough' Parenting Is Good Enough, Study Finds

Caregivers need only 'get it right' 50 percent of the time when responding to babies' need for attachment to have a positive impact on a baby, new research ... read more

Highly Qualified Staff at State Preschools Overcome Private Sector Staffing Advantage

Staff who are better qualified and trained maintain the quality of state-funded preschools, to some extent making up for the larger number of children per staff member in comparison to private and ... read more

Low-Cost Intervention Boosts Undergraduate Interest in Computer Science

A recent study finds that an online intervention taking less than 30 minutes significantly increased interest in computer science for both male and female undergraduate students. However, when it ... read more

Finnish School Students Outperform US Students on 'Fake News' Digital Literacy Tasks

A recent study revealed students at an international school in Finland significantly outperformed US students on tasks which measure digital literacy in social media and online news. The researchers ... read more

'Pedigree Is Not Destiny' When It Comes to Scholarly Success

A new analysis of academic productivity finds researchers' current working environments better predict their future success than the prestige of their doctoral ... read more

Schadenfreude: Your Pain Is My Gain

If someone in the workplace is mistreated, their colleagues may respond with empathy -- or with schadenfreude. The latter emotion, according to a new study, occurs primarily in highly competitive ... read more

People With Happy Spouses May Live Longer

Research suggests that having a happy spouse leads to a longer marriage, and now study results show that it's associated with a longer life, ... read more

Playing Video Games Generally Not Harmful to Boys' Social Development

A new longitudinal study conducted in Norway looked at how playing video games affects the social skills of 6- to 12-year-olds. It found that playing the games affected youth differently by age and ... read more

Intentions Attributed to Other People Change How We See Their Actions

Our apparent ability to see the intent in other's behavior leads us to cling to our false ... read more

Young Children Judge Others Based on Facial Features as Much as Adults Do

Just like adults, children by the age of 5 make rapid and consistent character judgements of others based on facial features, such as the tilt of the mouth or the distance between the eyes. Those ... read more

School Bullying Increases Chances of Mental Health Issues and Unemployment in Later Life

Victims of bullying in secondary school have dramatically increased chances of mental health problems and unemployment in later ... read more

Want Black Women Students to Stay in STEM? Help Them Find Role Models Who Look Like Them

Representation matters for Black women college students when it comes to belonging in rigorous science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) programs, according to a new study. Having role ... read more

When It Comes to Learning, What's Better: The Carrot or the Stick?

Does the potential to win or lose money influence the confidence one has in one's own decisions? Researchers investigated confidence bias in a learning context through a system of monetary ... read more

'Lovely,' 'Pleasant' and 'Scientific' -- Medical Student Evaluations Differ by Gender and Minority Status

In the largest analysis to date of narrative medical school evaluations, researchers have found significant differences in how female and underrepresented minority medical students are ... read more

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com