advertisement
Water News
January 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 9:55pm EST

More Water News
January 20, 2019

Mediterranean Freshwater Fish Species Susceptible to Climate Change

Jan. 18, 2019 — Climate change will strongly affect many European freshwater fish species. This is particularly the case for species in the Mediterranean ... read more

New Conservation Practice Could Reduce Nitrogen Pollution in Agricultural Drainage Water

Jan. 15, 2019 — In a new study, scientists have estimated that a new conservation practice known as saturated buffers could reduce nitrogen from agricultural drainage by 5 to 10 ... read more

Bear Necessities: New Study Highlights Importance of Water Resources for Andean Bears

Jan. 15, 2019 — A new study highlights the importance of water for Andean bears living in the mountain forests of Peru. The study found that bears exhibit tree-rubbing behavior on shrubs and trees that are located ... read more

Jan. 14, 2019 — Biologists have discovered three new species of groundwater salamander in Central Texas, including one living west of Austin that they say is critically endangered. They also determined that an ... read more

Jan. 11, 2019 — A new computational model could potentially boost efficiencies and profits in natural gas production by better predicting previously hidden fracture mechanics. It also accurately accounts for the ... read more

Jan. 11, 2019 — Researchers have come up with a new way to create ammonia from nitrogen and water at low temperature and low pressure. They've done it successfully so far in a laboratory without using hydrogen ... read more

Jan. 11, 2019 — Researchers have assembled current and potential sources of government support to promote the production and use of biochar, which helps preserve valuable soil, enhance agricultural production, ... read more

Integrated Pathways for Meeting Climate Targets and Ensuring Access to Safe Water

Jan. 11, 2019 — Researchers have led work to develop new pathways showing how the world can develop water and energy infrastructure consistent with both the Paris Agreement and the UN Sustainable Development Goal 6 ... read more

Jan. 10, 2019 — Scientists have combined two membrane-bound protein complexes to perform a complete conversion of water molecules to hydrogen and ... read more

Social and Environmental Costs of Hydropower Are Underestimated, Study Shows

Jan. 10, 2019 — Study shows that deforestation, loss of biodiversity and economic damage done to communities living near dams have not been factored into the cost of these projects. Large dams also ignore the ... read more

Jan. 10, 2019 — There are only so many fish in the sea. And our appetite for seafood has already stressed many wild fisheries to the breaking point. Meanwhile, the planet's growing population will only further ... read more

Jan. 10, 2019 — The ancient people of Rapa Nui (Easter Island, Chile) built their famous ahu monuments near coastal freshwater sources, according to a team of ... read more

Jan. 10, 2019 — Fish become anxious and more cautious when water quality is degraded by sediment, an effect that could stunt their growth and damage their ... read more

Jan. 9, 2019 — Deploying a new technique for the first time in the region, geoscientists have reconstructed the longest and highest-resolution climate record for the Northeastern United States, which reveals ... read more

Trees Change Inside as Drought Persists

Jan. 9, 2019 — Scientists have found that trees change their anatomy in response to prolonged ... read more

Jan. 8, 2019 — For the production of drugs, pesticides and smartphone displays, most of the processes are cost-intensive and generate a large amount of waste. Scientists have now succeeded in developing a ... read more

Jan. 8, 2019 — Researchers estimate that installing floating solar photovoltaics on the more than 24,000 human-made US reservoirs could generate about 10 percent of the nation's annual electricity production. ... read more

Jan. 8, 2019 — Microscopic marine plants flourish beneath the ice that covers the Greenland Sea, according to a new study. These phytoplankton create the energy that fuels ocean ecosystems, and the study found that ... read more

Jan. 8, 2019 — Mega-dams should not be built in lowland tropical forest regions due to the threat they pose to biodiversity and ecosystems, according to ... read more

Drinking Water Guidelines in the US Vary Widely from State to State

Jan. 8, 2019 — In response to the growing problem of drinking water contaminated with per- and poly-fluoroalkyl substances (PFAS), a new analysis shows that many states are establishing their own guideline levels ... read more

Friday, January 18, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Friday, December 28, 2018
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Saturday, December 22, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Saturday, December 15, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Saturday, December 1, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com