advertisement
Recycling and Waste News
June 17, 2019

Top Headlines
 

International Travelers Experience the Harmful Effects of Air Pollution

Even a short stay for travelers in cities with high levels of air pollution leads to breathing problems that can take at least a week from which to recover, a new study ... read more
Concentrations of antibiotics found in some of the world's rivers exceed 'safe' levels by up to 300 times, the first ever ... read more
Scientists have demonstrated a new bio-inspired material for an eco-friendly and cost-effective approach to recovering ... read more

People Recycle More When They Know What Recyclable Waste Becomes

A new study shows that consumers recycle more when they think about how their waste can be transformed into new products. Change the conversation from 'Where does this go?' to 'What does this ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 1:23pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Fishers Keen to Help Address the Problem of Marine Litter

Commercial fishers are acutely aware of the potential for marine litter to cause lasting damage to their catches and the wider industry, a new study ... read more

New technology engineers natural fermentation to produce a biodegradable chemical that can be refined as a source of ... read more

Cement as a Climate Killer: Using Industrial Waste to Produce Carbon Neutral Alternatives

Producing cement takes a big toll on our climate: Around eight per cent of annual global carbon dioxide emissions can be attributed to this process. A team of geoscientists has found a way to produce ... read more

A survey of plastic pollution on Australia's Cocos (Keeling) Islands has revealed the territory's beaches are littered with an estimated 414 million pieces of plastic debris. The study ... read more

Clean and Effective Electronic Waste Recycling

E-waste recycling is far below what it should be to reduce its impact on the environment and human health simply because it is not economically feasible. Researchers from Japan are working on a way ... read more

Bacterial Communities for Wastewater Treatment System

A global study expands the understanding of activated sludge microbiomes for next-generation wastewater treatment and reuse systems enhanced by microbiome engineering. Wastewater treatment and reuse ... read more

Soaking Up Pharmaceuticals and Personal Care Products from Water

Medications excreted in the urine or dumped into the toilet can end up in the water supply, just like lotions or cosmetics that wash off the body and go down the sink or shower drain. Unfortunately, ... read more

Researchers have designed a recyclable plastic that can be disassembled into its constituent parts at the molecular level, and then reassembled into a different shape, texture, and color again and ... read more

Researchers report that they have developed a radically different desalination approach--''temperature swing solvent extraction (TSSE)''--for hypersaline brines. Their study ... read more

Researchers have demonstrated an innovative nanodevice for harvesting solar energy. The article reports that evolutive dipole nanoantennas (EDNs) generate a thermoelectric voltage three times larger ... read more

Using data from field experiments and computer modeling of ground faults, researchers have discovered that the practice of subsurface fluid injection used in 'fracking' and wastewater ... read more

Hydrogen is a critical component in the manufacture of thousands of common products from plastic to fertilizers, but producing pure hydrogen is expensive and energy intensive. Now, a research team ... read more

Do Additives Help the Soil?

A researcher is using her latest study to question whether soil additives are worth their salt. Despite a decades-long practice, there could be environmental consequences of adding bio-fertilizers ... read more

Biochemists have discovered two ways that autophagy, or self-eating, controls the levels of oils in plant cells. The study describes how this cannibalistic-sounding process actually helps plants ... read more

Biodegradable Bags Can Hold a Full Load of Shopping Three Years After Being Discarded in the Environment

Researchers examined the degradation of five plastic bag materials widely available from high street retailers in the ... read more

Studies Link Earthquakes to Fracking in the Central and Eastern US

Small earthquakes in Ohio, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Oklahoma and Texas can be linked to hydraulic fracturing wells in those regions, according to ... read more

Air Pollution Poses Risks for Childhood Cancer Survivors

A new study finds that air pollution significantly increases the risk of hospitalizations for young cancer ... read more

Those Home-Delivered Meal Kits Are Greener Than You Thought

Meal kit services, which deliver a box of pre-portioned ingredients and a chef-selected recipe to your door, are hugely popular but get a bad environmental rap due to perceived packaging ... read more

Why Researchers Are Mapping the World's Manure

Farmers rely on phosphorus fertilizers to enrich the soil and ensure bountiful harvests, but the world's recoverable reserves of phosphate rocks, from which such fertilizers are produced, are ... read more

Plastic's Carbon Footprint

From campaigns against microplastics to news of the great Pacific garbage patch, public awareness is growing about the outsized effect plastic has on the world's oceans. However, its effect on ... read more

Friday, June 7, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Friday, May 3, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Sunday, April 14, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Friday, December 28, 2018
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com