advertisement
Oceanography News
January 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 10:55pm EST

More Oceanography News
January 20, 2019

A Century and Half of Reconstructed Ocean Warming Offers Clues for the Future

Jan. 7, 2019 — Due to a scarcity of data, most global estimates of ocean warming start only in the 1950s. However, a team of scientists has now succeeded in reconstructing ocean temperature change from 1871 to ... read more

Jan. 4, 2019 — Cold waters that sank in polar regions hundreds of years ago during the Little Ice Age are still impacting deep Pacific Ocean temperature trends. While the deep Pacific temperature trends are small, ... read more

Microplastics and Plastic Additives Discovered in Ascidians All Along Israel's Coastline

Jan. 3, 2019 — A new study finds that microplastics -- tiny pieces of plastic ingested by aquatic life -- are present in solitary ascidians, sac-like marine invertebrate filter feeders, all along the Israeli ... read more

A 'Pacemaker' for North African Climate

Jan. 2, 2019 — Researchers have analyzed dust deposited off the coast of west Africa over the last 240,000 years, and found that the Sahara, and North Africa in general, has swung between wet and dry climates every ... read more

Jan. 2, 2019 — Seagrass beds are so effective in protecting tropical beaches from erosion, that they can reduce the need for regular, expensive beach nourishments that are used now. Biologists and engineers from ... read more

Dec. 28, 2018 — Trash, particularly plastic, in the ocean and along the shoreline is an economic, environmental, human health, and aesthetic problem causing serious challenges to coastal communities around the ... read more

Dec. 19, 2018 — Oceanographers have found that even slight levels of ocean oxygen loss, or deoxygenation, have big consequences for tiny marine organisms called ... read more

Dec. 19, 2018 — Up to 93 percent of green turtle hatchlings could be female by 2100, as climate change causes 'feminization' of the species, new research ... read more

Dec. 19, 2018 — Sea levels are rising globally from ocean warming and melting of land ice, but the seas aren't rising at the same rate everywhere. Sea levels have risen significantly faster in some US East ... read more

Dec. 19, 2018 — Artificial intelligence and extensive satellite imagery have allowed researchers to map the world's intertidal zones for the first time, revealing a significant loss of the crucial ecosystem. ... read more

Plastic Waste Disintegrates Into Nanoparticles

Dec. 19, 2018 — There is a considerable risk that plastic waste in the environment releases nano-sized particles known as nanoplastics, according to a new study. The researchers studied what happened when takeaway ... read more

Restoring Canals Shown as Cost-Efficient Way to Reverse Wetland Loss

Dec. 19, 2018 — Scientists have determined a cost-effective way to prevent coastal erosion and protect Louisiana's wetlands.They propose a simple and inexpensive way to fill in canals that were once used for ... read more

New Light Shed on What Drove Last, Long-Term Global Climate Shift

Dec. 19, 2018 — The quest to discover what drove the last, long-term global climate shift on Earth, which took place around a million years ago, has taken a new, revealing ... read more

Dec. 18, 2018 — Despite the looming ecological consequences, glacier motion remains poorly understood. The bedrock, the ice-bed interface and the water-filled cavities all affect friction and influence how the ice ... read more

Dec. 18, 2018 — New research shows that the powerful sense of smell Pacific salmon rely on for migration, finding food and avoiding predators might be in trouble as carbon emissions continue to be absorbed by the ... read more

Dec. 17, 2018 — A 'gold rush' of seabed mining could lead to unprecedented damage to fragile deep-sea ecosystems, researchers have ... read more

For These Critically Endangered Marine Turtles, Climate Change Could Be a Knockout Blow

Dec. 14, 2018 — Researchers suggest that projected increases in air temperatures, rainfall inundation and blistering solar radiation could significantly reduce hawksbill hatching success at a selection of major ... read more

Dec. 14, 2018 — Researchers praises widespread commitment but call for broader participation to better protect global marine ... read more

Dec. 12, 2018 — Why did the first big, complex organisms spring to life in deep, dark oceans where food was scarce? A new study finds great depths provided a stable, life-sustaining refuge from wild temperature ... read more

Dec. 12, 2018 — A new study is starting to unravel that mystery. Researchers found that the soundscape of a reef -- the combined sounds of all animals living nearby -- might play a major role in steering corals ... read more

Monday, January 7, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Friday, December 28, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com