advertisement
Geology News
March 21, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 6:26pm EDT

More Geology News
March 21, 2019

Scientists Use a Blender to Reveal What's in Our Smartphones

Mar. 14, 2019 — Scientists blended an entire smartphone to dust before conducting a chemical analysis of the dissolved results to demonstrate why we should all take a keener interest in what is contained within ... read more

Feb. 28, 2019 — A robotic rover deployed in the most Mars-like environment on Earth, the Atacama Desert in Chile, has successfully recovered subsurface soil samples during a trial mission to find signs of life. The ... read more

Feb. 27, 2019 — Soils all over the Earth's surface are rigorously tested and managed. But what about soils that are down in the murky depths? Some scientists are working to get them the recognition and research ... read more

Feb. 26, 2019 — Pumping carbon dioxide into the ground to remove it from the atmosphere is one way to lower greenhouse gases, but keeping track of where that gas is, has been a difficult chore. Now researchers are ... read more

High CO2 Levels Can Destabilize Marine Layer Clouds

Feb. 25, 2019 — Computer modeling shows that marine stratus clouds could disappear if atmospheric CO2 levels climb high enough, raising global ... read more

Feb. 22, 2019 — Understanding the global carbon cycle provides scientists with vital clues about the planet's ... read more

Feb. 20, 2019 — A major volcanic event could have triggered one of the largest glaciations in Earth's history -- the Gaskiers glaciation, which turned the Earth into a giant snowball approximately 580 million ... read more

Feb. 14, 2019 — Geophysicists used data from an enormous earthquake in Bolivia to find mountains at the base of the mantle's transition zone, located 660 kilometers below our feet. Their statistical model ... read more

Satellite Images Reveal Interconnected Plumbing System That Caused Bali Volcano to Erupt

Feb. 14, 2019 — A team of scientists has used satellite technology provided by the European Space Agency to uncover why the Agung volcano in Bali erupted in November 2017 after 50 years of ... read more

Feb. 13, 2019 — Geologic carbon and hydrate reservoirs in the ocean pose a climate threat beyond humanmade greenhouse ... read more

Indonesia's Devastating 2018 Earthquake Was a Rare Supershear, UCLA Study Finds

Feb. 12, 2019 — The devastating 7.5 magnitude earthquake that struck the Indonesian island of Sulawesi last September was a rare 'supershear' earthquake, according to a study led by UCLA researchers. Only ... read more

Researchers Help Define Southern Ocean's Geological Features

Feb. 8, 2019 — Scientists present data from the region that show the Australian-Antarctic Ridge has isotopic compositions distinct from both the Pacific and Indian mantle ... read more

Feb. 8, 2019 — Three and a half billion years ago Earth hosted life, but was it barely surviving, or thriving? A new study provides new answers to this question. Microbial metabolism is recorded in billions of ... read more

Feb. 7, 2019 — A new study has revealed how a group of deep-sea microbes provides clues to the evolution of life on Earth. Researchers used cutting-edge molecular methods to study these microbes, which thrive in ... read more

Feb. 6, 2019 — Laboratory experiments at extreme pressures and temperatures lead to precise measurements of the sound velocity of CaSiO3 perovskite which is one of the important constituent minerals in the ... read more

Feb. 6, 2019 — Earth's global surface temperatures in 2018 were the fourth warmest since 1880, according to independent analyses by NASA and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration ... read more

Feb. 5, 2019 — In astrobiology, there is an increasing interest in whether life as we know it is a quirk of the particular evolutionary history of the Earth or, instead, if life might be governed by more general ... read more

Volcanic Growth 'Critical' to the Formation of Panama

Feb. 5, 2019 — Scientists put forward new explanation as to how land bridge formed between North and South ... read more

Feb. 4, 2019 — Floating seismometers dubbed MERMAIDs -- Mobile Earthquake Recording in Marine Areas by Independent Divers -- reveal that Galápagos volcanoes are fed by a mantle plume reaching 1,900 km deep. By ... read more

Feb. 2, 2019 — The Greenland ice sheet melted a little more easily in the past than it does today because of geological changes, and most of Greenland's ice can be saved from melting if warming is controlled, ... read more

Thursday, March 14, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Saturday, February 2, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Friday, December 28, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Friday, September 21, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Friday, September 14, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com