advertisement
Geology News
May 20, 2019

Top Headlines
 

While volcanic, igneous rock predominates on Mars, virtually the entire Earth fossil record comes from sedimentary rocks. ... read more
Far below Bermuda's pink sand beaches and turquoise tides, geoscientists have discovered the first direct evidence that material from deep within Earth's mantle transition ... read more
Using data from field experiments and computer modeling of ground faults, researchers have discovered that the practice of subsurface fluid injection used in 'fracking' and ... read more
For more than a century, scientists have squabbled over how Earth's moon formed. Now researchers say they may have ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 8:52am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

The longevity of Earth's continents in the face of destructive tectonic activity is an essential geologic backdrop for the emergence of life on our planet. This stability depends on the ... read more

The caldera-forming eruption of Campi Flegrei (Italy) 40,000 years ago is the largest known eruption in Europe during the last 200,000 years, but little is known about other large eruptions at the ... read more

Up to about 19% more carbon dioxide than previously believed is removed naturally and stored underground between coastal trenches and inland chains of volcanoes, keeping the greenhouse gas from ... read more

Eclogitic Diamonds Formed from Oceanic Crust

Eclogitic diamonds formed in Earth's mantle originate from oceanic crust, rather than marine sediments as commonly thought, according to a new ... read more

Salish Seafloor Mapping Identifies Earthquake and Tsunami Risks

The central Salish Sea of the Pacific Northwest is bounded by two active fault zones that could trigger rockfalls and slumps of sediment that might lead to ... read more

Researchers find that 'speed bumps' in space, which can slow down satellites orbiting closer to Earth, are more complex than originally ... read more

A new study shows how two types of sand can behave like light and heavy liquids, shedding light on geological processes from mudslides to volcanoes and potentially enabling new technologies from ... read more

The Earth's magnetic field experiences unpredictable, rapid, and intense anomalies that are known as geomagnetic jerks. The mechanisms behind this phenomenon had remained a mystery until the ... read more

Small Fossils With Big Applications: BP Gulf of Mexico Time Scale

Geologic time scales are critical to understanding the timing, duration, and connection of geologic events. They are not static, and can be improved with research, integration, and refinements ... read more

Researchers say mercury buried in ancient rock provides the strongest evidence yet that volcanoes caused the biggest mass extinction in the history of the Earth. The extinction 252 million years ago ... read more

Researchers have examined the sediments in the Dead Sea. The geologists drilled a 400-meter hole before analyzing each layer of sediment and the traces of a strategy that enables bacteria to survive ... read more

Primitive ponds may have provided a suitable environment for brewing up Earth's first life forms, more so than oceans, a new study finds. Researchers report that shallow bodies of water, on the ... read more

The origin of giant apatite-iron oxide ores of the so-called 'Kiruna-type' has been the topic of a long standing debate that has lasted for over 100 years. In a new article, scientists ... read more

Earth's steady state is warm and balmy, but half a dozen times over the past billion years, the planet developed ice caps and glaciers. Researchers have now amassed evidence that these cold ... read more

Evidence of historic marine life present in Alaskan permafrost is helping scientists reconstruct ancient changes in the ice cover over the Arctic ... read more

Where Will Flooded Fields Best Replenish Groundwater?

Overpumping in California's Central Valley has depleted groundwater storage capacity and caused the land to sink. A new model based on remote sensing data could help zero in on where water ... read more

Scientists used satellite data to map the Houston-Galveston area impacted by Hurricane Harvey to understand why the flooding was so severe and ... read more

A new, first-of-its-kind space weather model reliably predicts space storms of high-energy particles that are harmful to many satellites and spacecraft orbiting in the Earth's outer radiation ... read more

Biodiversity: Climate Key to Abundance of Life

Natural history museum paleontologists have succeeded in mapping historical biodiversity in unprecedented detail. For the first time, it is now possible to compare the impact of climate on global ... read more

More CO2 Than Ever Before in 3 Million Years, Shows Unprecedented Computer Simulation

CO2 levels in the atmosphere are likely higher today than ever before in the past 3 million years. During this time, global mean temperatures never exceeded the preindustrial levels by more than ... read more

Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Saturday, February 2, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Friday, December 28, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com