advertisement
Geography News
January 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 10:25pm EST

More Geography News
January 20, 2019

Economist Find a Global Tax on Carbon May Be Feasible

Jan. 17, 2019 — There is a consistently high level of public support across nations for a global carbon tax if the tax policy is carefully designed, according to a recent ... read more

Jan. 16, 2019 — The onset of the most recent ice age about 2.6 million years ago changed where the western Gulf of Mexico gets its supply of sediments. The finding adds new insight into how extreme climate change ... read more

New Conservation Practice Could Reduce Nitrogen Pollution in Agricultural Drainage Water

Jan. 15, 2019 — In a new study, scientists have estimated that a new conservation practice known as saturated buffers could reduce nitrogen from agricultural drainage by 5 to 10 ... read more

Jan. 15, 2019 — Researchers have investigated all glacial areas in South America in more detail than ever before, from the tropical areas to the subpolar regions. Their two major findings are that the highest rate ... read more

Jan. 15, 2019 — Two new species of fungi have made an appearance in a rapidly melting glacier on Ellesmere Island in the Canadian Arctic, just west of ... read more

Bear Necessities: New Study Highlights Importance of Water Resources for Andean Bears

Jan. 15, 2019 — A new study highlights the importance of water for Andean bears living in the mountain forests of Peru. The study found that bears exhibit tree-rubbing behavior on shrubs and trees that are located ... read more

History of North African Date Palm

Jan. 14, 2019 — Genome analysis reveals that North African date palms are a hybrid between cultivated date palms from the Middle East and a different, wild species of palm that grows on the island of Crete and in ... read more

Jan. 14, 2019 — Sea level rise puts coastal areas at the forefront of the impacts of climate change, but new research shows they face other climate-related threats as well. Scientists found that the energy of ocean ... read more

New Policy Design Needed to Tackle Global Environmental Threat

Jan. 11, 2019 — A pioneering new report has devised a seven-point plan to help policymakers devise new, coherent and collaborative strategies to tackle the greatest global environmental ... read more

Jan. 10, 2019 — Researchers from Mexico and the United States have concluded that a population of fin whales in the rich Gulf of California ecosystem may live there year-round -- an unusual circumstance for a whale ... read more

Jan. 10, 2019 — Heat trapped by greenhouse gases is raising ocean temperatures faster than previously thought, concludes an analysis of four recent ocean heating observations. The results provide further evidence ... read more

Social and Environmental Costs of Hydropower Are Underestimated, Study Shows

Jan. 10, 2019 — Study shows that deforestation, loss of biodiversity and economic damage done to communities living near dams have not been factored into the cost of these projects. Large dams also ignore the ... read more

Jan. 10, 2019 — There are only so many fish in the sea. And our appetite for seafood has already stressed many wild fisheries to the breaking point. Meanwhile, the planet's growing population will only further ... read more

Two Billion Birds Migrate Over Gulf Coast

Jan. 9, 2019 — A new study combining data from citizen scientists and weather radar stations is providing detailed insights into spring bird migration along the Gulf of Mexico and how these journeys may be affected ... read more

Jan. 9, 2019 — Although sunscreen is critical for preventing sunburns and skin cancer, some of its ingredients are not so beneficial to ocean-dwelling creatures. In particular, sunscreen chemicals shed by swimmers ... read more

Jan. 9, 2019 — Scientists are using drones to survey woody climbing plants and better understand how they may affect the carbon balance of tropical ... read more

Jan. 9, 2019 — Known to be feeding on many economically important crops, including maize, sugarcane, beet, tomato, potato and cotton, the larvae of the native to the Americas fall armyworm moth already seem to ... read more

Jan. 8, 2019 — Singing humpback whales from different ocean basins seem to be picking up musical ideas from afar, and incorporating these new phrases and themes into the latest song, according to a newly published ... read more

Jan. 8, 2019 — Microscopic marine plants flourish beneath the ice that covers the Greenland Sea, according to a new study. These phytoplankton create the energy that fuels ocean ecosystems, and the study found that ... read more

A Century and Half of Reconstructed Ocean Warming Offers Clues for the Future

Jan. 7, 2019 — Due to a scarcity of data, most global estimates of ocean warming start only in the 1950s. However, a team of scientists has now succeeded in reconstructing ocean temperature change from 1871 to ... read more

Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Friday, December 28, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Saturday, December 1, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com