advertisement
Environmental Policy News
May 21, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Using a technique called structured expert judgment, researchers asked 22 ice sheet experts to estimate plausible ranges for future sea level rise due to the projected ... read more
A seemingly counterintuitive approach -- converting one greenhouse gas into another -- holds promise for returning the atmosphere to pre-industrial concentrations of methane, ... read more

Organic Animal Farms Benefit Birds Nesting in Agricultural Environments

Environmental subsidies for agriculture awarded by the European Union aim to improve biodiversity in agricultural environments. A recently completed Finnish study indicates that the proximity of ... read more

Impact of CO2 Leakage Through North Sea Wells

Realistic estimates show that global warming can only be kept below 1.5 or 2 degrees Celsius if carbon dioxide is actively removed from the atmosphere. Storage beneath the seafloor is an option that ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 3:53am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Preparing Low-Income Communities for Hurricanes Begins With Outreach

Governments seeking to help their most vulnerable residents prepare for hurricanes and other disasters should create community-based information campaigns ahead of time, according to a study of ... read more

Shedding Light on the Key Determinants of Global Land Use Projections

Land use is at the core of various sustainable development goals. An international research group has endeavored to disentangle the key determinants of global land use ... read more

Bacterial Communities for Wastewater Treatment System

A global study expands the understanding of activated sludge microbiomes for next-generation wastewater treatment and reuse systems enhanced by microbiome engineering. Wastewater treatment and reuse ... read more

Do Most Americans Believe in Human-Caused Climate Change?

A survey of more than 7,000 U.S. adults finds that three format changes produce significant changes in estimates of acceptance of human-caused climate ... read more

Occurrence of Back-to-Back Heat Waves Likely to Accelerate With Climate Change

Researchers have provided the first estimation of the potential damage from back-to-back, or compound, heat waves, which the authors found will increase as global warming continues. But government ... read more

Public Dread of Nuclear Power Limits Its Use

Nuclear power has been a part of the American energy portfolio since the 1950s, but for a number of reasons, the general public has long felt a significant dread about ... read more

Genetic Adaptation to Climate Change

New research has shown that the threat of range losses for some species as a result of climate change could be overestimated because of the ability of certain animals to adapt to rising temperatures ... read more

Ash Dieback Is Predicted to Cost £15 Billion in Britain

A team of researchers calculated the true economic cost of ash dieback -- and the predictions are ... read more

Hunting Jeopardizes Forest Carbon Storage, Yet Is Overlooked in Climate Mitigation Efforts

The loss of animals, often due to unregulated or illegal hunting, has consequences for the carbon storage capacity of forests, yet this link is rarely mentioned in high-level climate policy ... read more

Nature is declining globally at rates unprecedented in human history -- and the rate of species extinctions is accelerating, with grave impacts on people around the world now likely, warns a landmark ... read more

Crowd Oil: Fuels from Air-Conditioning Systems

Researchers have proposed a method enabling air conditioning and ventilation systems to produce synthetic fuels from carbon dioxide (CO2) and water from the ambient air. Compact plants are to ... read more

Breaking Bread With Rivals Leads to More Fish on Coral Reefs

When fishermen and women communicate with their fisher rivals, and cooperate over local environmental problems, they can improve the quality and quantity of fish on coral reefs. The study advances a ... read more

Climate Extremes: Impact on Global Crop Yield Variations

Climate extremes, such as drought, heatwaves, heavy precipitation and more are responsible for 18 to 43 percent of variation in crop yields for maize, spring wheat, rice and soybeans. according to a ... read more

How Could a Changing Climate Affect Human Fertility?

Human adaptation to climate change may include changes in fertility, according to a new study. They found that, through its economic effects, climate change could have a substantial impact on ... read more

What Happens When Schools Go Solar? Overlooked Benefits

Rooftop solar projects at schools could reduce harmful air pollution, help the environment and enhance student learning while cutting electricity costs, a new study finds. Overall, the energy switch ... read more

Field Experiment Finds a Simple Change That Could Boost Agricultural Productivity by 60 Percent

Acknowledging 75 percent of the crop to tenants in crop-sharing contracts, instead of the customary 50 percent, can boost agricultural productivity and income levels in developing countries. In a ... read more

India Could Meet Air Quality Standards by Cutting Household Fuel Use

India could make a major dent in air pollution by curbing emissions from dirty household fuels such as wood, dung, coal and kerosene, shows a new analysis. Eliminating emissions from just these ... read more

System to Legally Test GPS Spoofing Vulnerabilities in Automated Vehicles

Scientists have developed a cyber security system to test for vulnerabilities in automated vehicles and other technologies that use GPS receivers for positioning, navigation and ... read more

Field Study Finds Pellet-Fed Stoves Cut Air Pollutant Emissions 90%

A field study finds that a new cookstove design, which makes use of compressed wood pellets, reduces air pollution by about 90% for a range of contaminants associated with health problems and climate ... read more

Researchers have assessed abrupt thaw studies across the permafrost zone to estimate the overall effect. They found carbon emissions have the potential to double the climate feedback associated with ... read more

Monday, May 20, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Friday, May 3, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com