advertisement
Environmental Awareness News
May 19, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Climate Extremes: Impact on Global Crop Yield Variations

Climate extremes, such as drought, heatwaves, heavy precipitation and more are responsible for 18 to 43 percent of variation in crop yields for maize, spring wheat, rice and soybeans. according to a ... read more
When India slammed into Asia, the collision changed the configuration of the continents, the landscape, global climate and more. Now scientists have identified one more ... read more
Extreme ocean winds and wave heights are increasing around the globe, with the largest rise occurring in the Southern Ocean, University of Melbourne ... read more
Global warming has caused twice as many ocean-dwelling species as land-dwelling species to disappear from their habitats, a unique study found. The greater vulnerability of ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 4:53am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Do Most Americans Believe in Human-Caused Climate Change?

A survey of more than 7,000 U.S. adults finds that three format changes produce significant changes in estimates of acceptance of human-caused climate ... read more

An international team has conducted the first-ever global survey of the ecological diversity of viruses in the oceans during expeditions aboard a single sailboat. They identified nearly 200,000 ... read more

Climate Change Could Undermine Children's Education and Development in the Tropics

A new study concludes that exposure to extreme heat and precipitation in prenatal and early childhood years in countries of the global tropics could make it harder for children to attain secondary ... read more

Climate Panel Disbanded by Trump, Now Regrouped, Releases Its Report

A federal advisory committee started meeting in 2016 to explore how to make the National Climate Assessment more usable for communities who want to take action. President Trump dismissed the panel in ... read more

Tiny fragments of plastic in the ocean are consumed by sea anemones along with their food, and bleached anemones retain these microfibers longer than healthy ones, according to new research. The work ... read more

A study on climate warming in an Oklahoma tallgrass prairie has implications for understanding and predicting ecological consequences of climate change and ecosystem management strategies. More rapid ... read more

IPCC Is Underselling Climate Change

A new study has revealed that the language used by the global climate change watchdog, the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), is overly conservative - and therefore the threats are ... read more

Messages of Stewardship Affect Christians' Attitudes About Climate Change

Christians' attitudes toward the environment and climate change are shaped by whether they hold a view of humans as having stewardship of the Earth or dominion over the planet, and reading ... read more

Few Pathways to an Acceptable Climate Future Without Immediate Action

A new comprehensive study of climate change has painted over 5 million pictures of humanity's potential future, and few foretell an Earth that has not severely warmed. But with immediate action ... read more

Climate Change Is Shifting Productivity of Fisheries Worldwide

Fish provide a vital source of protein for over half the world's population, with over 56 million people employed by or subsisting on fisheries. But climate change is beginning to disrupt the ... read more

Forests, Carbon Sinks Cannot Make Up for Delays in Decarbonizing the Economy, Experts Argue

To stabilize the Earth's climate for people and ecosystems, it is imperative to ramp up natural climate solutions and, at the same time, accelerate mitigation efforts across the energy and ... read more

High CO2 Levels Can Destabilize Marine Layer Clouds

Computer modeling shows that marine stratus clouds could disappear if atmospheric CO2 levels climb high enough, raising global ... read more

Amazon Forest: Areas With Higher Rainfall Variability Are More Resilient to Climate Change

The Amazon rainforest has evolved over millions of years and even through ice ages. Yet today, human influences and global climate change put this huge ecosystem at risk of large-scale dieback -- ... read more

How Coral Bleaching Threatens Caribbean Communities

A new study uses environmental, socioeconomic and management data from 30 Caribbean islands to identify which communities may be most at risk from the social and ecological effects of coral ... read more

Fishing and Pollution Regulations Don't Help Corals Cope With Climate Change

A new study reports that protecting coral reefs from fishing and pollution does not help coral populations cope with climate change. The study also concludes that ocean warming is the primary cause ... read more

Understanding Carbon Cycle Feedbacks to Predict Climate Change at Large Scale

Researches have identified long-disappeared forests available for restoration across the world. They describe how such an effort, could absorb as much as 135 gigatons of atmospheric ... read more

Research Forms Complex Picture of Mercury Pollution in a Period of Global Change

This study looks at how climate change and land use modification impact mercury pollution in ... read more

Arctic Sea Ice Loss in the Past Linked to Abrupt Climate Events

A new study on ice cores shows that reductions in sea ice in the Arctic in the period between 30-100,000 years ago led to major climate events. During this period, Greenland temperatures rose by as ... read more

Climate Change May Destroy Tiger's Home

A scientist says the last coastal stronghold of an iconic predator, the endangered Bengal tiger, could be destroyed by climate change and rising sea levels over the next 50 ... read more

Melting Ice Sheets May Cause 'Climate Chaos' According to New Modelling

The weather these days is wild and will be wilder still within a century -- in part, because the water from melting ice sheets off Greenland and in the Antarctic will cause extreme weather and ... read more

Thursday, May 9, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Sunday, November 25, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Monday, August 6, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Saturday, July 28, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Monday, July 2, 2018
Friday, June 29, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Wednesday, June 13, 2018
Friday, June 8, 2018
Sunday, June 3, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Thursday, May 17, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Monday, May 7, 2018
Friday, May 4, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com