advertisement
Ecosystems News
June 26, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Increased solar radiation penetrating through the damaged ozone layer is interacting with the changing climate, and the consequences are rippling through the Earth's natural ... read more
In a new survey of the sub-seafloor off the U.S. Northeast coast, scientists have made a surprising discovery: a gigantic aquifer of relatively fresh water trapped in porous ... read more
A new study shows how marine life around Antarctica returned after the extinction event that wiped out the dinosaurs. A team studied just under 3000 marine fossils collected ... read more
A recent study highlights the fact that the economic benefits of commodity export for primate habitat countries has been ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:23am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Yellowstone's migratory elk rely primarily on environmental cues, including a retreating snowline and the greening grasses of spring, to decide when to make the treks between their winter ranges ... read more

No Evidence for Increased Egg Predation in the Arctic

Climate and ecosystems are changing, but predation on shorebird nests has changed little across the globe over the past 60 years, finds an international team of 60 researchers. The study published in ... read more

When scientists subjected two-toned pygmy squid and bigfin reef squid to carbon dioxide levels projected for the end of the century, they received some surprising ... read more

Community Knowledge Can Be as Valuable as Ecological Knowledge in Environmental Decision-Making

An understanding of community issues can be as valuable as knowing the ecology of an area when making environmental decisions, according to new ... read more

Many species will need large population sizes to survive climate change and ocean acidification, a new study ... read more

Consequences of Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill

Marine snow is the phenomena of flakes of falling organic material and biological debris cascading down a water column like snowflakes. But an oil spill like Deepwater Horizon will add oil and ... read more

Fracking Causes Some Songbirds to Thrive While Others Decline

A new study finds that some songbird species benefit from the spread of fracking infrastructure while others ... read more

Scientists Discover Unlikely Culprit for Fertilizing North Pacific Ocean: Asian Dust

One anomaly in the North Pacific Subtropical Gyre ecosystem that has puzzled oceanographers for years: The region's chemistry changes periodically, affecting the overall nutrient composition and ... read more

Scientist Makes Case for Stabilizing Forest Carbon to Help Mitigate Climate Change

There's no doubt that climate change is affecting ecosystems as well as the lifestyles of plants and animals around the globe. As temperatures rise, so do the complexity of the issues. ... read more

Older Forests Resist Change, Climate Change, That Is

Older forests in eastern North America are less vulnerable to climate change than younger forests, particularly for carbon storage, timber production, and biodiversity, new research finds. The study ... read more

Rapid Change in Coral Reefs Prompts Global Calls for a Rethink

Coral reef experts from around the world are calling for an urgent re-evaluation of our climate goals in the light of increasing evidence of unprecedented speed of change to these fragile ... read more

New Global Warming Model Highlights Strong Impact of Social Learning

A new climate modeling approach suggests that social processes strongly affect global warming predictions, and mitigation efforts should account for this ... read more

Forest conservation can be a source of tension between competing priorities and interests from forestry, science, administration and nature conservation organizations. Scientists have developed a ... read more

Microorganisms on Microplastics

A recent study shows that that the potentially toxin-producing plankton species Pfiesteria piscicida prefers to colonize plastic particles, where they are found in 50 times higher densities than in ... read more

Early Lives of Alaska Sockeye Salmon Accelerating With Climate Change

An ample buffet of freshwater food, brought on by climate change, is altering the life history of one of the world's most important salmon ... read more

Researchers in Myanmar describe flooded elephant tracks as key breeding grounds and 'stepping stones' connecting ... read more

New research shows a synergistic time-lag interaction between the parasitic mite Varroa destructor and neonicotinoid insecticides reducing survival of winter honeybees, Apis ... read more

Concordia University biology professor Jean-Philippe Lessard reviews the ant traits system developed by Alan Andersen and calls for the creation of a global framework to help categorize the ... read more

Patagonia Ice Sheets Thicker Than Previously Thought

A new study of Patagonia's ice fields finds that many glaciers in the region are much thicker than previously ... read more

An ancient, cosmopolitan lineage of plants is shaking up scientists' understanding of how quickly species evolve in temperate ecosystems and ... read more

Friday, June 14, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Friday, June 7, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Saturday, May 11, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Friday, May 3, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com