advertisement
Ecology News
March 21, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 5:56pm EDT

More Ecology News
March 21, 2019

Sustainable Fisheries and Conservation Policy

Mar. 20, 2019 — There are roughly five times as many recreational fishers as commercial fishers throughout the world. And yet, the needs and peculiarities of these recreational fishers have largely been ignored in ... read more

Mar. 18, 2019 — A study into the effectiveness of disinfecting birds' nests has led to a breakthrough in the understanding of biosecuity measures for the endangered echo parakeet in Mauritius. The research team ... read more

Mar. 12, 2019 — New research suggests climate change makes it increasingly difficult for tree seedlings to regenerate following wildfires in low-elevation forests, which could contribute to abrupt forest ... read more

Impacts of Marine and Freshwater Predators on Ecosystems and Society

Mar. 12, 2019 — A new study reports on the diverse ways that aquatic predators, such as sharks and alligators, can impact ecosystems and also benefit human society. The study shows how these important ecological ... read more

Mar. 11, 2019 — Using a combination of advanced satellite imaging and over 20 years of coral monitoring across the Reef, a team of researchers has found that chronic exposure to poor water quality is limiting the ... read more

Mar. 11, 2019 — New research shows how an insect common to the Eastern U.S., the long-horned passalid beetle, has a hardy digestive tract with microbes to thank for turning its woody diet into energy, food for its ... read more

Coral Reef Parks Protecting Only 40 Percent of Fish Biomass Potential

Mar. 7, 2019 — Marine scientists examining the ecological status of coral reefs across the Indian and Pacific oceans have uncovered an unsettling fact: even the best coral reef marine parks contain less than half ... read more

Mar. 7, 2019 — Using a series of well-designed experiments in Mozambique's Gorongosa National Park, a research team confirmed each step in a trophic cascade between the elimination of predators (including ... read more

Mar. 7, 2019 — Ecologists and local fishing populations may perceive major environmental shifts in fundamentally different ... read more

Crucial Milestone for Critically Endangered Bird

Mar. 7, 2019 — A team led by a conservation biologist has successfully relocated threatened Seychelles paradise flycatchers (Terpsiphone corvina) to a different island to help prevent their extinction. Four females ... read more

Mar. 7, 2019 — Experts have shed new light on the relationship between predators and their prey after studying how elk responded to the risk posed by grey wolves in an American national ... read more

Fish Diversity Linked to Caribbean Coral Reef Health

Mar. 6, 2019 — The health of coral reefs can be impacted as much by the diversity of fish that graze on them as by the amount of fish that do so, according to a new study. In the paper, the researchers untangle and ... read more

Translocation of Bighorn Sheep in Arizona Has Positive Genetic Outcomes

Mar. 6, 2019 — Research shows it is possible to re-establish bighorn sheep populations without a reduction of genetic diversity over a short period and without erosion of ancestral ... read more

Disrupting Wolf Movement May Be More Effective at Protecting Caribou

Mar. 6, 2019 — Researchers used motion-triggered cameras to capture photographs of wolves, caribou, and other wildlife species in the Canadian Oil Sands to study the habitat use patterns of these animals and test ... read more

Mar. 6, 2019 — A new study explores how climate, evolution, plants, and soils are linked. The research is the first to show how climate-driven evolution in tree populations alters the way trees directly interact ... read more

Mar. 5, 2019 — Scientists are puzzling out how to address the declining numbers of northern spotted owls (NSO) in their Pacific Northwest forest habitat. A new study explores the reasons why spotted owls are losing ... read more

Mar. 5, 2019 — In a recent study, researchers explored the ways forest succession and climate variability interacted and influenced fires in Alaska's boreal forests over the past four centuries -- from 1550 to ... read more

Mar. 5, 2019 — Biologists propose a better way to assess the conservation value of North American old-growth forests -- using lichens, sensitive bioindicators of environmental change. Old-growth forests are usually ... read more

Mar. 4, 2019 — Researchers find a Florida-specific strain of red-tide-causing-algae thrives in both high and low CO2 ... read more

Mar. 4, 2019 — Rapid population and economic growth are destroying biodiversity. A growing demand for agricultural products requires ever new cultivated areas. Even though technological advances are making ... read more

Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Saturday, February 2, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com