advertisement
Earth Science News
February 22, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 7:25am EST

More Earth Science News
February 22, 2019

Feb. 21, 2019 — Several years ago, an international team of scientists raised sediments from the bottom of Lake Van in eastern Turkey reflecting the past 600,000 years. Soil scientists and paleobotanists have now ... read more

Feb. 21, 2019 — Nitrogen fixation is surprisingly high in the ocean's coastal waters and may play a larger role than expected in carbon dioxide uptake, a new study shows. The findings -- based on thousands of ... read more

Fishing and Pollution Regulations Don't Help Corals Cope With Climate Change

Feb. 19, 2019 — A new study reports that protecting coral reefs from fishing and pollution does not help coral populations cope with climate change. The study also concludes that ocean warming is the primary cause ... read more

Feb. 14, 2019 — In a finding that has implications for how scientists calculate natural greenhouse gas emissions, a new study finds that water levels in small lakes across northern Canada and Alaska vary during the ... read more

Satellite Images Reveal Interconnected Plumbing System That Caused Bali Volcano to Erupt

Feb. 14, 2019 — A team of scientists has used satellite technology provided by the European Space Agency to uncover why the Agung volcano in Bali erupted in November 2017 after 50 years of ... read more

Research Forms Complex Picture of Mercury Pollution in a Period of Global Change

Feb. 14, 2019 — This study looks at how climate change and land use modification impact mercury pollution in ... read more

Feb. 13, 2019 — Sea-level rise, sediment starvation and other environmental woes pose increasing threats to coastal wetlands worldwide. But a new study could help stem the losses by giving scientists a broader ... read more

Feb. 13, 2019 — Geologic carbon and hydrate reservoirs in the ocean pose a climate threat beyond humanmade greenhouse ... read more

Indonesia's Devastating 2018 Earthquake Was a Rare Supershear, UCLA Study Finds

Feb. 12, 2019 — The devastating 7.5 magnitude earthquake that struck the Indonesian island of Sulawesi last September was a rare 'supershear' earthquake, according to a study led by UCLA researchers. Only ... read more

Feb. 12, 2019 — The Earth's magnetic shield booms like a drum when it is hit by strong impulses, according to new ... read more

Feb. 11, 2019 — Scientists surveyed deep-sea seamounts outside Isla del Coco UNESCO World Heritage site revealing coral communities with surprising ... read more

Feb. 11, 2019 — A NASA glaciologist has discovered a possible second impact crater buried under more than a mile of ice in northwest ... read more

Feb. 11, 2019 — A new study on ice cores shows that reductions in sea ice in the Arctic in the period between 30-100,000 years ago led to major climate events. During this period, Greenland temperatures rose by as ... read more

Re-Establishing Oyster Beds to Maximize Their Ecological Benefits

Feb. 11, 2019 — Researchers have developed a mapping tool that identifies sites for re-establishing oyster reefs that maximize their ecological benefits -- such as water filtration. This Geographic Information ... read more

Many Arctic Lakes Give Off Less Carbon Than Expected

Feb. 11, 2019 — New research suggests many lakes in the Arctic pose little threat to global carbon levels, at least for ... read more

Feb. 11, 2019 — As climate change melts Greenland's glaciers and deposits more river sediment on its shores, an international group of researchers has identified one unforeseen economic opportunity for the ... read more

Marine Scientists Find Toxic Bacteria on Microplastics Retrieved from Tropical Waters

Feb. 11, 2019 — A team of marine scientists had uncovered toxic bacteria living on the surfaces of microplastics (which are pieces of plastic smaller than 5 millimeters in size) collected from the coastal areas of ... read more

Feb. 11, 2019 — Humans have a ''disproportionately huge effect'' on the other species of vertebrates that share Earth's surface with us, causing more than 25 percent of the deaths among an ... read more

Climate Change May Destroy Tiger's Home

Feb. 11, 2019 — A scientist says the last coastal stronghold of an iconic predator, the endangered Bengal tiger, could be destroyed by climate change and rising sea levels over the next 50 ... read more

Seasons Change: Researchers Provide New Definition for Major Indian Monsoon Season

Feb. 8, 2019 — Researchers have used detailed surface temperature analyses to develop the first-ever objective definition of the Northeast Indian ... read more

Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Saturday, February 2, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Sunday, January 27, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Saturday, January 19, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com