advertisement
Drought Research News
March 23, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 4:25pm EDT

More Drought Research News
March 23, 2019

Mar. 22, 2019 — An OU-led project is showing how citizen science programs provide valuable data on rivers in southwestern United States. The ecological and hydrological data obtained from intermittent rivers (rivers ... read more

Houston, We're Here to Help the Farmers

Mar. 6, 2019 — Farmers irrigating their crops may soon be getting some help from space. In 2018, scientists launched ECOSTRESS, a new instrument now attached to the International Space Station. Its mission: to ... read more

New Scale to Characterize Strength and Impacts of Atmospheric River Storms

Feb. 5, 2019 — A team of researchers has created a scale to characterize the strength and impacts of the weather phenomenon known as 'atmospheric ... read more

Feb. 4, 2019 — Researchers sought to understand how climate change, specifically changes in snowpack and VPD, is affecting pikas. Researchers related population abundances to weather and snowpack dynamics in the ... read more

Jan. 29, 2019 — The 4,300 kilometer Mekong River is a lifeline for South-East Asia. If this mighty river system bursts its banks, flooding can affect the lives and livelihoods of millions of people. A new method ... read more

Jan. 29, 2019 — Corn is planted on approximately 90 million acres across the United States every year. With all that data, it takes months after harvest for government agencies to analyze total yield and grain ... read more

Extreme Weather and Geopolitics Major Drivers of Increasing 'Food Shocks'

Jan. 28, 2019 — Global food production is suffering from an increasing number of 'food shocks,' with most caused by extreme weather and geopolitical crises. An international study looked at the incidence ... read more

Trout, Salamander Populations Quickly Bounce Back from Severe Drought Conditions

Jan. 22, 2019 — Populations of coastal cutthroat trout and coastal giant salamanders in the Pacific Northwest show the ability to rebound quickly from drought conditions, buying some time against climate ... read more

Mediterranean Freshwater Fish Species Susceptible to Climate Change

Jan. 18, 2019 — Climate change will strongly affect many European freshwater fish species. This is particularly the case for species in the Mediterranean ... read more

Jan. 16, 2019 — The growth of forest trees all over the world is becoming more water-limited as the climate warms. The effect is most evident in northern climates and at high altitudes where the primary limitation ... read more

Climate Change During Ancient Indus Civilization

Jan. 15, 2019 — New research on the '4.2 ka BP climatic event' provides rich insights into how rainfall in the northwest of South Asia changed over the critical period between 5400 and 3000 years ... read more

Trees Change Inside as Drought Persists

Jan. 9, 2019 — Scientists have found that trees change their anatomy in response to prolonged ... read more

Tree-Ring Analysis Explains Physiology Behind Drought Intolerance

Dec. 26, 2018 — Tree rings tell the story of what's happening physiologically as fire suppression makes forests more dense and less tolerant of drought, pests and wildfires, new research ... read more

European Wheat Lacks Climate Resilience

Dec. 26, 2018 — Researchers have found that current breeding programs and cultivar selection practices do not provide the needed resilience to climate ... read more

Dec. 21, 2018 — The startling extent to which violent wildfires, similar to those that ravaged large swathes of California recently, affect forests and crops way beyond the boundaries of the blaze has been ... read more

Dec. 21, 2018 — Recent droughts caused increases in emissions of carbon dioxide and harmful air pollutants from power generation in several western states as fossil fuels came online to replace hampered ... read more

Wildlife Struggle to Cope With Extreme Weather

Dec. 21, 2018 — The mass death of flying foxes in extreme heat in North Queensland last month underscores the importance of wildlife research released today. The new research sheds light on how various species have ... read more

Dec. 17, 2018 — Climate change threatens plants as the risks of flooding increase. A new study shows that special genes are key to keeping plants from withering, remaining healthy and resistant to a lack of oxygen ... read more

Record-Wet and Record-Dry Months Increased in Regions Worldwide

Dec. 12, 2018 — More and more rainfall extremes are observed in regions around the globe -- triggering both wet and dry records, a new study shows. Yet there are big differences between regions: The central and ... read more

Dec. 7, 2018 — The plant hormone jasmonic acid also performs a function that was previously unknown. It ensures that the leaf pores close when leaves are injured. For the plant, this could be an emergency ... read more

Friday, March 22, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Monday, September 3, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Friday, June 29, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Wednesday, June 13, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Friday, June 8, 2018
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Friday, June 1, 2018
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Monday, May 28, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Tuesday, May 1, 2018
Friday, April 27, 2018
Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Monday, April 23, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com