advertisement
Coral Reefs News
January 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 10:25pm EST

More Coral Reefs News
January 20, 2019

Nov. 13, 2018 — Rising global sea levels may actually be beneficial to the long-term future of coral reef islands, such as the Maldives, according to new research. Low-lying coral reef islands are typically less ... read more

Nov. 8, 2018 — A new study has uncovered the history of bleaching on a reef in the epicenter of El Nino, revealing how some corals have been able to return after facing extreme ... read more

Nov. 6, 2018 — In a new article, researchers are calling for a rethink on tropical marine conservation efforts, as people who previously relied on coral reefs for food and income are increasingly looking to ... read more

Nov. 1, 2018 — A new study has found that a common coral species might have evolved unique immune strategies to cope with environmental ... read more

Oct. 29, 2018 — This National Sea Slug Day, celebrate the addition of 17 new species of nudibranch to the tree of life. Adorned in lavish patterns and colors that range from yellow polka dots to shades of mauve and ... read more

Oct. 25, 2018 — Coral reefs are envisioned as the seats of great biodiversity, but they may not be where all that diversity got its start. Paleobiologists reveal that the earliest fish may have diversified in ... read more

Oct. 22, 2018 — Researchers found that when water temperatures heat up for corals, fish 'tempers' cool down, providing the first clear evidence of coral bleaching serving as a trigger for rapid change in ... read more

Oct. 3, 2018 — Gas bubbles released by marine algae during photosynthesis produce sound whose intensity correlates with the degree of algal cover on coral reefs, according to a new ... read more

Oct. 1, 2018 — Researchers studied nitrogen levels in the skeleton of a 130-year-old brain coral living 620 miles from the North American mainland and found that the nitrogen from human sources was less than had ... read more

Sep. 27, 2018 — Coral reefs can be rehabilitated over large scales using a relatively inexpensive ... read more

Climate Change Modifies the Composition of Reefs

Sep. 20, 2018 — Corals devastated by climate change are being replaced naturally by other species such as gorgonians, which are less efficient in acting as a carbon sink. A study has analyzes for the first time why ... read more

Sep. 18, 2018 — Researchers have long questioned what impact climate change has on the rate at which corals are growing and building reef habitats in the Florida Keys. A new study explored this topic, finding both ... read more

Sep. 17, 2018 — Many coral reef islands, or atolls, are created by water moving sand and gravel, piling it up into consecutive ridged layers. However, new research has uncovered a different type of island ... read more

Sep. 14, 2018 — Another new coral found in Panama's Coiba National Park, a UNESCO National Heritage Site, the location of the Smithsonian's newest research ... read more

Coral Bleaching Increases Disease Risk in Threatened Species

Sep. 11, 2018 — Bleaching events caused by rising water temperatures could increase mortality among a coral species already threatened by disease, says new ... read more

Sep. 11, 2018 — An international team of researchers has mapped Nemo's genome, providing the research community with an invaluable resource to decode the response of fish to environmental changes, including ... read more

Sep. 4, 2018 — Scientists have been training their attention on the developmental and evolutionary determinants of white stripes in clown fish. They now detail why, when, and how these bands arose and help ... read more

Sep. 4, 2018 — A new study demonstrates that the recent mass coral bleaching on the Great Barrier Reef was not restricted to shallow depths, but also impacted deep reefs. Although deep reefs are often considered a ... read more

Aug. 28, 2018 — Researchers are discovering how forest conservation in Fiji can minimize the impact of human activities on coral reefs and their fish ... read more

Aug. 27, 2018 — Researchers have used a novel approach to assess temperature stress on deep coral reefs in Palau, combining sea level and temperature data sets from continuous recorders serviced by ... read more

Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Friday, September 14, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Friday, June 8, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Monday, May 28, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Wednesday, May 2, 2018
Tuesday, May 1, 2018
Monday, April 30, 2018
Thursday, April 26, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Thursday, April 5, 2018
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Wednesday, March 21, 2018
Tuesday, March 20, 2018
Friday, March 16, 2018
Wednesday, March 14, 2018
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Thursday, February 22, 2018
Wednesday, February 21, 2018
Monday, February 12, 2018
Monday, February 5, 2018
Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Monday, January 29, 2018
Thursday, January 25, 2018
Monday, January 22, 2018
Thursday, January 18, 2018
Thursday, January 11, 2018
Thursday, January 4, 2018
Thursday, December 28, 2017
Wednesday, December 27, 2017
Tuesday, December 26, 2017
Friday, December 22, 2017
Wednesday, November 29, 2017
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Monday, November 27, 2017
Wednesday, November 15, 2017
Monday, November 13, 2017
Wednesday, November 8, 2017
Wednesday, November 1, 2017
Friday, October 20, 2017
Thursday, October 19, 2017
Wednesday, October 18, 2017

http://www.vxiaotou.com