advertisement
Geochemistry News
February 22, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 7:55am EST

More Geochemistry News
February 22, 2019

Researchers Explore an Often Ignored Source of Greenhouse Gas

Feb. 21, 2019 — Researchers have discovered a surprising new source of carbon dioxide emissions -- bicarbonates hidden in the lake water used to irrigate local ... read more

Feb. 21, 2019 — Nitrogen fixation is surprisingly high in the ocean's coastal waters and may play a larger role than expected in carbon dioxide uptake, a new study shows. The findings -- based on thousands of ... read more

Virus-Infected Bacteria Could Provide Help in the Fight Against Climate Change

Feb. 17, 2019 — Understanding the relationship between microbes and viruses is beneficial not only for medical research and practical applications but also in marine biology, say ... read more

Children Carry Evidence of Toxins from Home Flooring and Furniture

Feb. 17, 2019 — Children living in homes with all vinyl flooring or flame-retardant chemicals in the sofa have significantly higher concentrations of potentially harmful semi-volatile organic compounds (SVOCs) in ... read more

Understanding Carbon Cycle Feedbacks to Predict Climate Change at Large Scale

Feb. 17, 2019 — Researches have identified long-disappeared forests available for restoration across the world. They describe how such an effort, could absorb as much as 135 gigatons of atmospheric ... read more

Feb. 14, 2019 — Geophysicists used data from an enormous earthquake in Bolivia to find mountains at the base of the mantle's transition zone, located 660 kilometers below our feet. Their statistical model ... read more

Diagnostic Tool for Detecting Cryptosporidium

Feb. 14, 2019 — Using a small and inexpensive biosensor, researchers have developed a novel low-cost technique that quickly and accurately detects cryptosporidium contamination in water ... read more

Research Forms Complex Picture of Mercury Pollution in a Period of Global Change

Feb. 14, 2019 — This study looks at how climate change and land use modification impact mercury pollution in ... read more

Feb. 13, 2019 — Researchers are developing an eco-friendly, 3D printable solution for producing wireless Internet-of-Things (IoT) sensors that can be used and disposed of without contaminating the ... read more

Scientists Developed a Method That Allows Removal of Antibiotic Residue from Waste Water

Feb. 13, 2019 — A new article is focused in particular on organic aerogels produced from phenolic compounds obtained upon processing Estonian oil shale, i.e. from local raw material. In order to produce highly ... read more

Upcycling Plastic Bags Into Battery Parts

Feb. 13, 2019 — Plastic bag pollution has become a huge environmental problem, prompting some cities and countries to heavily tax or ban the sacks. But what if used plastic bags could be made into higher-value ... read more

Feb. 13, 2019 — Geologic carbon and hydrate reservoirs in the ocean pose a climate threat beyond humanmade greenhouse ... read more

Feb. 12, 2019 — Researchers have proposed a design solution that could bring artificial leaves out of the lab and into the environment. Their improved leaf, which would use carbon dioxide -- a potent greenhouse gas ... read more

Research Will Help Urban Planners Prioritize Bike Lanes

Feb. 12, 2019 — A new virtual tool could help planners choose the best places to install bikes lanes in cities. The data-based tool builds on previous research that validated the safety benefits of bike lanes for ... read more

Many Arctic Lakes Give Off Less Carbon Than Expected

Feb. 11, 2019 — New research suggests many lakes in the Arctic pose little threat to global carbon levels, at least for ... read more

Marine Scientists Find Toxic Bacteria on Microplastics Retrieved from Tropical Waters

Feb. 11, 2019 — A team of marine scientists had uncovered toxic bacteria living on the surfaces of microplastics (which are pieces of plastic smaller than 5 millimeters in size) collected from the coastal areas of ... read more

New Device Simplifies Measurement of Fluoride Contamination in Water

Feb. 11, 2019 — Seeking to address fluoride contamination in drinking water, chemical engineers have developed a portable and user-friendly device that can measure fluoride concentration accurately and ... read more

Scientists Advance New Technology to Protect Drinking Water from Lake Erie Algal Toxins

Feb. 11, 2019 — A microbiologist has identified groups of bacteria in Lake Erie that degrade microcystin and can be used to naturally purify ... read more

Feb. 8, 2019 — A new one-step method discovered by synthetic organic chemists allows nitrogen atoms to be added to precursor compounds used in the design and manufacture of drugs, pesticides, fertilizers and other ... read more

Munitions at the Bottom of the Baltic Sea

Feb. 8, 2019 — The bottom of the Baltic Sea is home to large quantities of sunken munitions, a legacy of the Second World War -- and often very close to shore. Should we simply leave them where they are and accept ... read more

Thursday, February 21, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Sunday, January 27, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Sunday, January 20, 2019
Saturday, January 19, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com